You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stepping Off the Path of Fear

in #positivity8 years ago

Great to see you're back on the right track. Focusing on the positives is always the best way to start rebuilding. But be careful, not to get into a state of denial. Acknowledging that there was a problem helps your defense mechanisms protect you. Our human mind is a very complex thing. We tend to overthink the bad things and oversimplify the good. That tells you, your defense mechanisms are working, but you have to be aware of them and keep them in check. Other wise you can easily become a basket case. I spent a decade tearing down walls in my relationship with my wife. that was her defense mechanism. She had been hurt so bad in her life that she became very proficient at putting up walls to protect herself. She would even sabotage a good thing between us because she was afraid of getting hurt again. It seemed the minute I breached one wall, another came up. She's doing 100% better now, and even wouldn't mind me sharing this, because she knows that I won't hurt her. Be careful of walls. They could prevent a very good person from being a part of your life

Sort:  

This is wise. I think it is easier to be reactive and defend than let people in. Definitely something I need to reflect on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68236.06
ETH 3737.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64