A Long Journey: Dysautonomia

in #pots6 years ago (edited)

Hello friends,
Some of you may have noticed that I haven't been posting during the past few months. Yes, school has been rough, but my health has been the main thing keeping me from posting anything.

It started a few months ago, when I began to have dizzy spells while playing sports (I am an avid soccer player). I went to the doctor and they didnt know why I was feeling this way. Then I began to have more symptoms. Dizzyness whenever I stood. Unnaturally cold (I would wear ski jackets inside). Depersonalization. Full body tremors. Fatigue. Constant Vertigo. Heart Palpatations and Arrythmias. My condition began to get worse, and I could no longer have the time to post on this site or do much else for that matter. What had previously been joys to me, math and science, became difficult to concentrate on because of the brain fog and fatigue. Life was difficult for many months.

Very recently, I was officially diagnosed with Hyper-Adrenergic Postural Tachycardial Syndrome, or Hyper POTS for short. It is a chronic illness, but the prognosis for me personally is very good. Eventually, my doctor says, I will get to the place where my symptoms no longer bother me, provided I do the treatment and take care of myself. Approximately 1% of the US Population suffers from an autonomic dysfunction, whether Hyper POTS or something else. I am feeling a little better now, and am due to recieve medication to help with my sleep problems and chest pains/arrythmia.

This is the reason I have been inactive. It wasn't cause I didn't want to do steem anymore, I have met so many interesting and good people while I have been active here. Its just some days I cant even think of the words to write a post. Some days I cant even leave the house.
A lot of friends and family members have come around me to support me during this difficult time. And I wanted to do the same for others with the disease. Your not alone. There is a large community of people who care about you and want to support you through these trying times.

Another reason I wanted to write this post is to also increase awareness of the disease. Many people who struggle from these symptoms may have been told by they're doctors that "its just anxiety", when really they may have a serious underlying illness that can be treated. I encourage people who experience symptoms like this and are told that they are just anxious to talk to they're doctors about POTS.

Cheers Steemians, I hope that now that Im feeling a bit better I can go back to posting all the cool projects that I've been doing.

Sort:  

I'm glad to see you back on STEEM and I'm glad you're feeling a little better. Hope to see more from you my friend, stay stong!

Thanks man - its good to see your still active too. I just started a new series that I think really reflects my interests, so ill be posting at least once a week with that.

Im just trying to get back into life, in every way. I just started getting back to school, back to working. Its been a long road, but I finally found enough time to do some steemit. Im so glad to see almost all my friends are still here!

STEEM is a remarkable place to be... especially now that SBDs are over $13 a pop and STEEM is around $3. The rewards for content creation have never been so promising! Looking forward to your building electronics series (considering I know nothing about it, maybe I shall learn a bunch!)

Wow, 13$? Amazing. Steem truly is remarkable. And yeah, I hope I do a good job teaching! Theres a lot of material to cover, but its so fun and it has a lot of uses. I hope you enjoy! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66903.13
ETH 3103.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74