Ulog 139: Free Food Grade Buckets- Sure I'll Take Some!

in #powerhousecreaatives5 years ago (edited)

I've been seeking to get some food grade storage buckets on the homestead for a couple of years; but the price has been a HUGE deterrent (see second image down).

No way would I ever consider paying that much money (over $30-USD) for one bucket!

buckets.jpg

Well last week while waiting for some prescriptions for Mr Golden D to be filled, wandered around the market place store and soon found myself in the bakery department. I saw some white buckets behind the counter as my eyes roamed across all the delectable baked goods.

There was a bakery lady restocking the bread so I asked her... "what do you do with those big white frosting buckets?"

THEY THROW THEM AWAY every day when they're empty!

That's blasphemy!

buck amazon.png

Normally a shy person, I spoke up...
"Can you save them for me? I'm in this store once a week and can pick up the next time I'm in here."
NOPE... they, according to store policy, cannot save them or stockpile. They are instructed to toss them in the dumpster.

Well the other day on his way home, Mr Golden D stopped to pick up a few things for me and I asked him to check the bakery department again.

Low and behold... they had five empty containers ready for the dumpster! They give them away for FREE!

Now I can store my large bags of sugar, flour and even the dogs' kibble in these. I'll be getting some more when I can.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

TIBLogo


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Hooray for you! On multiple fronts. It is great to be able to get something of such good use, and even more so that you saved a few items from needlessly being tossed in a landfill. Quite appalling how much we throw away that we could re-purpose instead.

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.902 which ranks you at #1286 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 1284).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 128 contributions, your post is ranked at #81.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Yay! One NEVER has too many buckets on a homestead!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

I wonder what makes them food grade as opposed to non food grade ones? Maybe something with the plastic?

Congrats on saving a bunch of cash!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95