Good morning....

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago

Unsplash

Sigh... some mornings are full of unexpected little surprises! Last night, the heating system stopped as the water pressure was too low... seeing as we don't use the hot water in the middle of the night, I figured I would do the filling of the system in the morning, when the school chaos was in full swing. In my defense, I was really really tired and completely brain fried yesterday, so, if I did it at the end of the evening... it would have been a guarantee for water disaster!

So, alarm goes off... I start waking the kids and then go down to do the water. Even though, I got more of a sleep than previous nights, I still managed to get water in places it wasn't supposed to go... like the power extension board! Which of course tripped the circuit breaker. However, I hadn't noticed that the water in the board, and so I was confused when I started to get the breakfast ready for the kids... the milk in the fridge was could, but the light wasn't on... and the fridge wasn't humming...

My first thought was to check the plug power... then start thinking about the potential cost of a repair or the hassle of the food going off. At the moment, due to the life of a musical freelancer (or any freelancer...), the bills are coming in on time... but the invoices are NOT being paid in a timely fashion... so, it is a bit of a tight time... where an extra bill would be hideously unwelcome!

However, I did have the presence of mind to check the circuit breaker box, and luckily, I noticed that one of the breakers had tripped. So I reset it and went upstairs to finish doing the filling of the heating (letting out any trapped air from the radiators...). However, when I came back downstairs... my wife said that the lights and the fridge weren't working again... weird!

After trying to reset the breaker... which wouldn't stick in the ON position... my wife asked if I had dripped water onto the power board... and lo and behold, that was the problem... it was drenched, and I hadn't noticed in the dim light. So, unplugging it and leaving out to dry... meant that the circuit breaker was working again, and just in time to run the kids out the door and drive to school.... to be immediately stuck in traffic...

Sigh... it is going to be one of these days... one little thing at a time.... now I just want breakfast....


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Oh no!!!
Sending you some wishes for a better day!

Glad it dried out and hopefully no more issues!

Well, at least it went better than the first time I ever did it about 5 years ago... That time, I got a face full of water...

Oh I know such mornings when everything just get in between and then I realised that I'm hungry and need food 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Yepp... everything gets in the way... just coffee to keep everything to keep going!

Your wife wins the day again! ☺️

Pfff... Lucky guess!

Whenever people say that they had water going into electrical things I always go "well shit this is not going to go in ways we like", luckily nothing bad happened apart from wasting you a few minutes! Do take care and have enough rest for optimal brain operation!

Talking about this, my sleep experience yesterday night isn't too good...ah, I still need to figure out a looooooot of things today, maybe I'll just get some coffee or something...

Luckily this time, it was just circuit breakers tripping! In a modern house, it can be hard to do things really badly....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94