Random parenting tip...

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago

IMG_20190725_120248.jpg

Agrees ago, I had written about how our toddler was making a booger wall near her head where she sleeps. Over time, the snot just dries up and gets solid and takes on the strength of concrete which makes it a pain in the arse to clean up.

The first time, my wife cleaned it up with lots of elbow grease and a liberal helping of Jif (a light abrasive)...

This time, it was my turn to tackle the wall (it had rebuilt itself pretty quickly). However, I did think it through a little bit... And thought that if I could rehydrate the snot... It would be just as easy to clean off as the day it was first applied to the wall!

So, I wet a cloth and just held it against the wall for a few minutes. Lo and behold... It was much much easier!

So, there is my random tip for parents. To clean up a booger wall... Rehydrate the boogers back to their original pristine stage. You'll find that they require the same slimy texture that allowed them to stick to the wall in the first place! Easy to wipe off...

... Never spend precious elbow grease if a touch of lateral thinking and time will substitute!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Good pro tip. Nice problem solving. And gross!

Posted using Partiko Android

Heh... It was pretty gross.... But at the time I was just thinking about the problem and a solution... It was only afterwards that I realised it was a bit yuck!

It just made me realize I'm actually a bit grateful that my kid eats his...🙄

Posted using Partiko Android

I've just puked a little bit...

THAT sir is an amazing tip. My Grand George the Fourth always sneezes at walls. He says he is doing to not put boogers on people. Brilliant for the boy who is seven with autism; however, not so for the person who has to clean it up. We have gotten him to wipe the wall with those Clorox Wipes, but we are trying to teach him to sneeze into the elbow of his shirt. This has not gone well.

Thanks so much for helping us feel normal and not weird.
Ren

Wow, that is pretty considerate of him!

Logic prevails, although I would be tempted to move the bed into the centre of the room - then the wall can’t get messed up. Bizarrely I can’t remember either of my boys wiping bogeys on the wall, sleeves yes, pants yes - just not yet wall. Maybe we aren’t continental enough for such actions.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That is actually something that hadn't crossed my mind! I'm going to suggest it to my wife... it will probably go down like a lead balloon... but no harm in trying!

Well I would get my toddler a box of tissues and a basket to put it in. I found some of that in the bedroom where the polish girl slept also.. I thought why? You are a cleaning lady what happened there.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sigh.... we've tried with the civilized way... it just doesn't seem to work!

Good tip! I'm just about to enter parenthood!...

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha... I'm sure that this is a few years ahead of you!

Hi @bengy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.646 which ranks you at #1777 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1776).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 136 contributions, your post is ranked at #34.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I would consider hanging a towel or piece of cloth on the wall that could be easily removed and washed!

That is actually a pretty good idea! Thanks!

Your welcome, I hope it works.

Ok dear dear friend men don’t know this but buy Dusty it’s available at the wibra tough stuff but cleans everything!!!

... my wife doesn't know about that! I will take a look!

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Congratulations!


This post has been granted a 100% upvote, courtesy to @wokeprincess, from BlissFish!
Enjoy the Bliss!

Join us on Discord!
Upvote this post to help the minnows win a bigger upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28