Unexpected after market support....

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago

IMG_20190107_170030.jpg

Once in a while you get some pretty decent after sales customer support which just means that you will have brand loyalty and an evangelist for life... or at least until something goes wrong... and the reverse is also true, sometimes you just have the shittiest support, and you end up with a pretty pissed off customer. Well, this is a story that began as the latter and finally morphed into the former....

So, I've had the Bose QC35 over ear noise cancelling headphones for a year or two now... and I've loved them, compact with great sound... they have been a great travelling companion. Until they started not being able to power down due to some problem with the Bluetooth radio constantly waking the headphones up. Needless to say, this runs the battery down pretty damn quickly... and a wireless headphone with no battery is completely useless. Well, not completely, I could still plug it in with a headphone jack...

So, after searching around... it appears that this was a known problem... and had something to do with a firmware update that was pushed out to the headphones. At the start, there were heaps of complaints... and customer reps had the authority from the company to just send out a free replacement. However, as I was late in doing the firmware update (by about half a year...)... this policy had already run it's course. Oddly enough, I keep most of computing equipment really very much up to date with security patches and everything... but peripherals, I tend to neglect a bit... a habit that I really need to change...

Anyway, my first thought was that I should reach out to customer service reps on Facebook and Twitter... and after going through some basic diagnostic steps (turn off/on... reset the bluetooth cache...)... which I had already done (but I do understand, you have to hit the low hanging fruit first for the non-techies...), their solution on both channels were; Just use the headphone jack or to buy a new one with a 50 euro discount (considering that they retail at around 300 euro... this isn't really a great option either...). Anyway, neither of them budged with the fact that it was a known problem, and not a hardware issue but a self-inflicted firmware issue. Of course, it didn't help that I was just outside the one year warranty window that was offered by the manufacturer (but that doesn't matter in the EU, they have a mandatory 2 year (?) responsibility...).... plus they started to say that they had run out of stock anyway (there was a new version in the market...).

So, I was pretty much resigned to having a wired set of headphones... but as a last ditch effort, I emailed the local Bose office. I explained the problem in the same way... headphones were great, but a firmware update had basically rendered the device useless for it's intended purpose... it was a known problem, and I was covered under the EU rules.... and they replied... no problem, they would arrange for collection... and if the headphones were found to have the problem that I stated, they would replace it immediately with the newer Mark 2 version for no cost (no shipping cost either!). WOW!

IMG_20190108_165204.jpg

So let's just say that I'm a very very happy Bose customer (probably helps that they have some solid competition in this part of the headphone space now...)... and I have to remember the lesson that the most easy points of contact (FB/Twitter) for customer service might not be the ones that are authorised to do more than to follow their assigned scripts. If you want real action, you might have to go hunting just that little bit further! However, it is definitely worth it when it is a piece of electronics that both costs a fair bit, and that you are particularly attached to!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

This feels like fiction to me...but I can believe that it really happened now! Congratulations on your lucky free replacement :)

It's really great that they did this... I was really expecting to have to go shopping for a replacement... with the associated financial hit....

That's like when I crashed my very expensive Triathlon bike going down Makakilo Hill, HI.

The bike was made by Canondale (fat tube frame) and supposedly had a lifetime guarantee. I was skeptical until my new, free replacement bike was delivered to my front door!

Enjoyed your post.

Namaste, JaiChai

Wow... they even replaced it after you crashed it! I would have thought the guarantee would have only covered wear and tear!

that's so awesome!!!

i love when companies go out of their way to make customers happy!

and bose headphones - NIIIIICE! :)

Yep, great way to get a loyal customer! It also helps that they made decent stuff as well!

That's great. I know audiophiles rail against Bose, but I have never ever been disappointed with anything I purchased from them. Expensive, yes, but the sound is still often better than trying to buy and tune other "audiophile" gear. I love my QC15s (about 10 years old now) and my QC35s. I bought a Bose TV sound system in the 80s that finally died around 5 years ago. I probably could have fixed it, but it didn't take any of the new video inputs.

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives

This is the thing... Bose is perhaps not the ultra best, but it is decently reliable! Without spending heaps more time matching equipment and impedences and all of that stuff... well, I just want something that is more plug and play, I like to spend my time elsewhere!

last-ditch effort bring the highest-located fruit on the tree. enjoyed the story. nice to see stories like that happen... at least to 0.05 percent of the customers...

It's a great thing when it works... Definitely breeds customer loyalty! To be honest, I wasn't expecting such a good outcome...

I can only add, that this sort of brands / manufactureres nowadays is un-breeded... to the minimum, and continues to go down. which is happening quite objectively, due to the market's rivalry laws.

ps. I'm not a brand addict, btw... I am happy with my old Beyerdymanic DT 880 pro, and obtained very recently an Audio-Technica ATH-AD900X for my almost 10 y.o. babygirl. atb!

Companies often don’t respect the reality of the the Maven. A term I understand describes a customer who is happy and endlessly talks highly of company and product. The trick is the Maven goes both ways.
Suck out... and the Maven will never stop bitching.

Glad to hear you had luck!! I love Bose. They put out a quality product!

I've never heard that term before! Yes, having people evangelise for your company is really something that can't be underestimated... Much better than paying influencers who have no loyalty!

Just the idea of an influencer makes me want to vomit on a hipster

That is great that Bose replaced your headphones for free.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes... slightly unexpected, but they have won a fan for life!

Quality for low.....your a lucky guy.
Bose is boss😅

Greetings
DieReiseRitter

Posted using Partiko Android

Yup! Bose are good in my eyes after this support!

You must have let them know you are a professional musician. (joking)
I do think customer service is the best to deal with. NO AI.
Sometimes it is quite hard where I live to get routed to a real person so you can deal with someone like yourself with feelings.

Once I could not get AI to put me through so my mantra became, "I want to speak to a human."

Also, I will not rate customer service in those little follow-up surveys unless I dealt mostly with humans.

Enjoy the headphones. success is sweet as music .. in this case you got both. :)

Ha... those robot machines aren't AI... AI would be much more useful, as they would have been properly "trained". Getting through to a person who is actually able and authorised to respond rather than following a support script is really the key... I often hate waiting through the scripts... as a technically minded person, I'm not really happy when I have to sit through the procedure that is mainly geared towards the non-technical support call.

Yay! You won and the company has won by securing your loyalty. Good times all around!

... there must be a loser somewhere... someone somewhere is crying!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99