DIY Healthy Treats | It’s a Protein Packed Dynamic Duo day!

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0066 (2).jpg

Good day my foodie friends! The Bird kitchen has been a busy one the last few days. I’ve been experimenting with several new recipes I thought you might be interested in. I call them my Dynamic Duo!

Protein packed Grain Free Granola and Coconut Yogurt!


Both are super healthy and unlike what you buy at the market there are no additives or dyes, and no refined sugars! I’ve shared recipes for both before but this time they’re better, super charged! Granola and Yogurt kind of go together don’t you think?


Say yes to Yogurt!


We all know how healthy yogurt can be, full of probiotics which help maintain a healthy gut. Wonderful in protein shakes, smoothies and breakfast bowls; let’s just say we eat a lot of yogurt! Did you realize you can make it yourself, and save money? Yes, you can! So, before you eat those last three tablespoons of yogurt, hold on!

All you need!

  • Full fat Coconut Milk (I used Thai brand) (3 cans)
  • Plain unsweetened yogurt (3 tbsp.)
  • Maple Syrup (3 tbsp.)
  • Tapioca Starch (3 tbsp.)

Grab your favorite saucepan…


Stir the coconut milk, and maple syrup. Then whisk in the Tapioca starch until everything is smooth and well blended. Using a cooking thermometer heat on medium heat to 140 degrees, stir often! Remove from stove and let this cool to 110 degrees.
DSC_0005 (2).jpg

Cool yet? 110 degrees?


Okay, add 3 tablespoons of plain coconut yogurt and stir well! The mixture should be thicker at this point.
DSC_0011 (2).jpg

I love recycling my jars1


Small pickle jars work well, just make sure they’re well washed and sterilized! Pour your yogurt into the jars, top with a lid!
DSC_0015 (2n).jpg

Now to dehydrate…

by using a dehydrator or your oven!

  • Dehydrator: dehydrate at 105 degrees for 9 hours
  • Oven: Heat oven to lowest temp (170) and then turn it off. Place the jars into the oven, leave oven light on and wait for 8 hours!

Refrigerate overnight!


And Voila! This yogurt tastes amazing my friends! Add any fruit or flavoring you wish. When you open that last jar, start another batch!
DSC_0061 (2).jpg

I’ve been waiting for Granola!


This granola isn’t your run of the mill granola! It’s grain and gluten free and packed with protein! Remember that protein powder I made a few weeks ago? This granola packs the same punch! Hold onto your hats, you’ll be amazed.

Power Packed Protein Granola!

  • Raw Almonds (1/2 cup)
  • Raw Cashews (1/2 cup)
  • Walnuts (1/2 cup)
  • Pecans (1/2 cup)
  • Hemp Seeds (1/3 cup)
  • Pepitas Seeds (1/2 cup)
  • Sunflower Seeds (1/2 cup)
  • Raisins and or Goji Berries (1/2 cup)
  • Unsweetened Coconut flakes (1 cup)
  • Almond Flour/meal (1 ½ cup)
  • Cinnamon (1 tsp)
  • Yacon or Maple Syrup (1/2 cup)
  • Coconut Oil (1/2 cup)

The nuts!


Add them all to your favorite mixing bowl.
DSC_0001 (2).jpg

Almond flour, coconut and cinnamon…


next. Add the Syrup and Coconut oil and stir until well combined and chunky!
DSC_0003 (2).jpg

Press onto a parchment lined…


baking sheet. Bake at 325 for 10 minutes then ever so carefully stir the granola and press the mixture together. Bake another 10 minutes or until golden brown. Cool completely! (I usually cover and let it cool for a couple of hours)

DSC_0013 (2p).jpg

Voila, Power up my friends! Look at those clusters!

DSC_0059 (2).jpg


You know I had to make an Acai bowl!


Cacao, Acai powder, frozen banana, avocado, fresh spinach, protein powder, coconut yogurt and the toppings, well they speak for themselves! Neat and pretty for Mr. Bird. Mine, not so much, lol!
DSC_0089 (2).jpg


I hope you’ll trying making this dynamic duo! Both are so quick and easy to make. Use any or all of the nuts, it’s totally up to you! Thanks for stopping by!


And as always, blessings to you all


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

You are brilliant mrs Bird making your own Coconut Yogurt! This is one super healthy breakfast bowl with the added homemade granola and luscious fruit, just yum!

I have been experimenting with yogurt for a while now and this seems to be the best yet. Light and fluffy, and if you strain it through cheesecloth it will be more like greek yogurt. I'll do that next. Yogurt and granola has to be one of my go to breakfasts so i try to keep it on hand, lol Thank you my friend , you're the sweetest! Have a wonderful weekend, I hope you're feeling better1 :)

Oh, I am moving into the Ole Birdhouse!!! You people eat better than if I went to a restaurant!!

The granola looks absolutely fabulous! I am not sure how you come up with all of these wonderful recipes, but, my hat goes off to you!

!tip

hehe, well thank you @dswigle, you're too kind, seriously! I mess around in the kitchen a lot..sometimes with good results sometimes not so much, lol I do have to say this granola was due to the latest Dr checkup for the Mr. Paleo diet they say for him....no dairy no grains...so making new coconut yogurts and grain free granola! It works! :) Have a wonderful Saturday!

I love yoghurt and it kinda blew my mind on how you can make yoghurt as easily as this...nice recipe to keep just in case I get my own oven one day!

Maybe when I do it myself I'll add in raisins...because why not? Hehe.

Oh I do hope you get to try making this some time @lilacse :) This yoghurt is so light and creamy, perfect with granola and berries! Thanks so much!

Have to say, would be lovely to break my fast with this! Mouth watering over here :) that inventive yogurt looks great and the granola really sent me over the top ... 😍 xoxox

The yogurt is good!!! I'm going to drain it through cheesecloth next time to make it more of a greek yogurt consistency. This is perfect for smoothies and mixed with granola, yum! Wish you were here, I would love to share it with you :) oxoxoxo

OMG, that looks so delicious!!!

I'm so glad you enjoyed it! You'll have to try it some time, it's soooooo easy to make. Once you do, you'll never be able to buy it again at the market, lol Thanks so much @simplymike! Have a great weekend.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @enchantedspirit.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Oh my goodness, thank you @enchantedspirit and @helpiecake! What a sweet surprise ;) So glad you enjoyed this!

You seem to be very inventive, and everything you've made here is really nutritious!

I've cooked for quite a long time, lol Many recipes I have modified over the years to make them healthier! Grain free and dairy free but healthy, that's where we are right now! Thanks @free-reign!

I absolutely love granola! homemade of course
And It's been a while since I made my breakfast yogurt cups like this. I need to make some more!
Thanks for the reminder!

I know, we do too! I try to keep it on hand but.... it never lasts very long. Trying to eliminate grain from the diet for the Mr. This turned out to be a great option! Especially with the yogurt! It's really light and creamy, perfect with the granola and fruit! Thanks @goldendawne :) Have a wonderful weekend.

That's a super interesting way of making coconut yoghurt! who'da thunk??!! I make coconut water kefir from - LOL - real coconut. I scoop out the flesh and store it in the fridge. Every 3-4 days I have enough flesh and at least 2 batches of water kefir - it goes fast here. I just pop 1 cup of coconut kefir in the blender and whiz with the coconut meat, and leave out overnight on the bench. IN the morning, voila! Yummy smooth, creamy cococnut "yoghurt". Our biggest issue is the small mountain of coconut shells.... LOL.

And yes, we DO have a very simple glass beaker blender. :)

WE use the coconut kefir water (and the 'yogurt') in our morning super-smoothies.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

I am soooooooo jealous! I have had kefer a couple of times and love it!! Certainly nothing as fresh as what you enjoy every day, yikes. We have used our local coconuts, but not on a regular basis. When my daughter visits they climb the trees and pick the coconuts which are ready. Perhaps you could go into the coconut bowl making business with all of those coconut shells, lol I can just picture the small mountain of shells. Thank goodness for our blenders! Thanks @artemislives :)

Thank you! With fresh fruit you can't go wrong :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97