Healthy Eats | The Great Goji and Grain Free Granola Goodness

DSC_0145 (2).jpg

Good Morning! It’s a beautiful Wednesday morning and time for breakfast at the Bird nest!


I love breakfast, in fact it’s my favorite meal of the day. As far as I’m concerned I could eat breakfast foods for every meal! How about you? Just this morning I was listening to the radio about the importance of breakfast. The speaker was talking about “break-fast”, the first meal breaking the period of fasting after sleep. The time we eat our breakfast is not as important as what we eat! This all important meal of the day will greatly affect our gut health!


What we eat! Three (of many) healthy breakfast components mentioned were:

  • Berries
  • Nuts and Seeds
  • Plain Yogurt

These 3 items together can work to promote a healthy gut, digestion and overall health!


Granola is a popular breakfast staple in our house however when my youngest daughter began nursing her son she found she had an over-abundant supply of milk! She couldn’t believe it when she found many of the foods she ate helped to produce more milk! Granola and oatmeal served as a quick morning breakfast for a new mom but unfortunately consuming Oats lead to a greater milk supply! I felt for her, and knew she needed to eat well. I knew nuts and dried fruit were key components in granola, but would it work without oats?


Gather all of your favorite raw nuts my friends! Let’s do this!

Grain Free Granola!

I used

  • Pecans
  • Walnuts
  • Pepitas
  • Almonds
  • Unsweetened Shredded Coconut
  • Flax Seeds
  • Chia Seeds
  • Cinnamon
  • Maple Syrup
  • Coconut Oil
  • Sea Salt
  • Goji Berries

The Flax, Coconut…


Oil and Maple Syrup work together to make our wonderful granola clusters! Everything is combined together except the Goji Berries!
DSC_0013 (2c).jpg

Being careful…


not to burn, place mixture on a parchment lined baking sheet. Into the oven for 10 minutes, stir and tamp down and then another 10 minutes at 325 degrees.
DSC_0017 (2).jpg

The kitchen smells…


like cinnamon and maple bliss! After removing the granola from the oven I added my one of my favorite dried fruits today…Goji Berries! Can’t forget the berries!
DSC_0020 (2).jpg

What’s so great about Gojis?


This little berry is so good for you, a superfood! They’re packed with antioxidants, vitamins A and C; all of which promote healthy hearts, beautiful skin, eyes and bones! Gojis work hard to keep your immune system healthy too! You’ll find they’re low in sugar so you won’t experience any blood sugar drops after eating them! Surely a great add to this healthy granola

DSC_0023 (2).jpg

Grab your yogurt and enjoy!


DSC_0122 (2).jpg


I think you’ll find this grain free granola is great for breakfast or if you’re like me, any time of day! Your body will love you! Grab a handful as a snack, or sprinkle it on salads, it’s all good! Thanks for stopping by!


And as always, blessings to you all


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

This recipe is making me hungry! I often toast nuts, but I've never thought of making them into granola. Maybe I'll try this. I always avoid shop-bought granola, as sugar is usually the main ingredient. Maple syrup is better, and you can control the amount. Yum!

Yes, yes a little maple syrup, coconut oil, flax and chia seeds will bind the nuts. I got some really nice clusters in this batch, lol You know how good that is @natubat :) This would be perfect for your mountain hikes and over night camps!! Thanks for stopping by

Oh yum - they certainly would be good on a hike!

ooh that looks so tasty. The prices for berries like goji as well as nuts are horrendous around here though, so I don't know if I could justify the price of making this for myself. But I do love me some granola...... with greek yogurt, and some honey! yummmm

boo, well perhaps dried blueberries or strawberries and of course you can always use raisins :) I know, I could eat granola with yogurt every day and never tire of it. Between the two of us I can't make granola fast enough, lol Thanks @derosnec!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.

So sweet you are, just like the cake! :) Thanks so much, appreciate the curation today!

My goodness. You know the photography in this one is spectacular, right? Bravo, @birdsinparadise. Great recipe chef, thanks for tagging #artzone.

Aw, thanks @dandays, nothing spectacular that's for sure. Just a lot of fun, food is so easy as it doesn't move, lol Glad you enjoyed this one, thanks for stopping by! :)

Oh, this looks like a perfect summer breakfast! We usually eat thick Greek yoghurt... this would be the ideal match!

Greek yogurt is my favorite, coconut for my daughter as she can't have the dairy. You are right, the perfect light breakfast :) Thanks @bengy!

Now this granola sounds and looks so delicious and super healthy, your Mr Bird is a very very lucky man! I used to make my own and it tastes so much better, would love to try your recipe!

Posted using Partiko Android

I would love to hear how how you make granola, I'm sure it is amazing! It's so easy and quick to make, I just can't stand the thought of buying it, not to mention how pricey it can be, ouch. Thanks my friend, we do try go make healthy treats for our guys don't we ;)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 474


We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and/or resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Posted using Partiko Android

Awww, thank you so much @powerhousecreatives! I am so glad to be a part of this vibrant community:) Thanks for the vote of confidence!!

YES! Berries, nuts and seed, and yoghurt ROCKS :D I didnt ever have such breakfast growing up but now I really love the taste and the healthiness of this breakfast menu! :D

Yours look really tasty though, mine is usually just random pecans, greek yoghurt, and whatever berries i can find at the supermarket and that's it XD

Gorgeous photos, too... Makes me super hungry~

oh, well your breakfast doesn't sound too shabby either @veryspider, lol Nothing like a little granola with fantastic yogurt. (Or in my case a little yogurt with a lot of granola, lol ) Thanks @veryspider, you're too kind!

So delicious. It looks like it worked to me. I have some Gogi berry gluten free granola in the kitchen right now I’m about to chow down on with some almond/coconut milk mixture. Thanks for the appetite @birdsinparadise!

Edit:

7FC7CB5B-42B7-4E78-9BC7-ABF4E41CC43D.jpeg

isn't that just the best breakfast? Feels like comfort food to me, although I end up eating equal parts of yogurt and granola.. no topping for me, lol Your breakfast looks amazing, did you make the granola or can you buy it in the area? I know you said your food sources can be limited. It's so expensive to buy I just try to make it when I can. Problem is it doesn't last very long, lol Thanks my friend, good to see you :)

Granola is one of my favorites too. I actually found some gluten free stuff at the macrobiotica for 1700 colones which equates to about 3.00 usd. Not bad for the specialty item. Although it’s not as fresh as I’m used to it does the trick poured over a morning smoothie. Some mornings I need more fuel than other mornings. Maybe I should just make my own. I have gluten free oats, and can add a banana, almonds, sunflower seeds, a little agave… maybe some chia seeds… what, bake it at 325 for 20 minutes and I have granola? I’ve never made it before 🤔. Hmmmm… I’ll keep you posted on the progress :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65