Healthy Eats | Tomato Chips! Perfect Road Trip Treats

DSC_0040 (2).jpg

We’re hitting the road my friends! We’re hoping to visit as many new State and National Parks as we can. It should be fun, just the two of us with our cats in tow!


Our first stop will be a State Park located in northern Florida, Paynes Prairie Preserve State Park! Have any of you visited this park? I would love to hear! I’ll be sharing lots of pics and history about each of our stops so I hope you’ll stay tuned!


Snacks are an important part of our travel as we’re often eating on the road! No more M&M’s, healthy treats are a must! We love eating chips, but as we all know, potato chips aren’t the best choice.


I like to make my own special chip, Tomato Chips!


todaysjourney.jpg

The ingredients are very simple!


  • Tomatoes
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Oregano
  • Garlic
  • and if you’re feeling a bit daring, Cayenne Pepper!

Slice the tomatoes…


about ¼” thick.
DSC_0002 (2).jpg

Place each slice…


gently on your dehydrator trays. Make sure you allow space between each slice. Now sprinkle with all of the spices. Dehydrate at 135 degrees until the slices are crisp. Remove, let them cool and then place in an airtight container.
DSC_0005 (2d).jpg

No dehydrator? No Problem,,,


You can also dehydrate tomatoes in the oven. Dehydrate on the lowest oven setting, checking them often until they’re crisp! These make an amazing snack and they’re wonderful in pesto and sauces!


While the tomatoes were dehydrating...


I whipped up a double batch of granola! We love it as a snack or on our morning yogurt, great for a quick breakfast!
DSC_0005 (2s).jpg

Tomatoes are done! Road trip treats are almost ready!

DSC_0043 (2).jpg


I do hope you’ll try making these. We love eating them, a nice change from your average run of the mill chip! Thanks for stopping by!


And as always blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

these are an absolute fav of mine from you! a cherished treasure. lovely photography! XO

I know how much you love them :) Another reason to bring them on the road! Love you oxoxo

Hello my Dear! Long time no see! I was off for couple of weeks, because my sister was vising from Slovakia. We went to NY for couple of days and I posted long about it.

Anyway, right now I am salivating over yours delicious tomato chips. They look absolutely amazing 🍅😍🍅

Lena!!! How are you, so good to hear from you. As we are on the road right now my connectivity is limited so I won't be on as much this month of June. So glad you had time with your sister, I'll have to check out your post, how exciting :) I can't believe you haven't made these chips, they're so simple and much less expensive than buying at the market. Love using them in pesto which I think you enjoy ;) Thank you my friend, so good to see you! How are the little grandsons? Growing too fast according to your last pics I saw. We'll be going to the grandson next....I'll be sure to share! I'll try to email a few baby pics to you, turns 1 next week and he's starting to walk now, on his papas birthday! Time flies!

Hello my Dear Troy! I was wondering how come I didn't get reply from you! But now I am glad you have a very good excuse, lol. I wish you a wonderful trip and lots of joy with your little one. The time when they start walking is sooooooo precious!!! I will be vatting for photos!!!

And those yummy chips I will be making for sure next year at my sister's place. I am going there for 3 months and she has dehydrator.

Sending lots of hugs 🌸💖🌸

Those look delicious! Now I'm wondering why I never thought of this myself, lol. Gonna try it out as soon as I get the chance. Thanks for the tip!

I do hope you'll try making them! I'm a big fan of dehydrating snacks. Everything from potatoes to tomatoes to all types of fruits. It's so fun to have portable healthy snacks around :) Thanks @simplymike! I'd love to hear how they turn out!

Yum! Looks like a delicious snack to me! I would gladly nosh on some of that granola, too. :) Safe travels my friendly Birds! I can't wait to hear about your adventures!

Thank you Katie, we zipped through downtown Atlanta on the way. It's always a bit nerve wracking I'll share more when I have better internet. Right now it's a bit sketchy, you know stand on one foot with your hand in the air, lol Have a wonderful weekend!

I avoid downtown as much as possible, haha! Glad you made it through. Sounds like perhaps you are in a much more enjoyable rural spot now if the wifi is spotty. ;)

Does this process lower the acidity of the tomato? It's one thing I can't stand about them!

Posted using Partiko Android

Drying the tomatoes does actually reduce the Vitamin C (ascorbic acid) content in the tomato by a bit making the tomato a little sweeter. You make like them! Just dry a small batch and see what you think! Using your favorite herbs is a fun thing to experiment with. Good luck!

Tomato Chips? That's sound really interesting!

lol, I totally understand @joelai, but if you enjoy pesto then these really make the pesto zippy and flavorful :) Thanks for stopping by

Sadly I'm not really a pesto fan, how about some sour cream?? Haha

I've made these before, may have added the hot pepper. Very delicious. I find some tomatoes work better then others, but all worth a try.
Have fun at the national parks, getting too hot for most of them now.

Posted using Partiko Android

The pepper is a great add and dehydrating the tomatoes helps to intensify the favor don't you think? Really adds zip to sauces as well as the chips. My daughter loves the chips and I try to bring them to her each time we visit. Summer is definitely here :) Humidity and all! Now we just have to hope we have a very light hurricane season. Thanks @abitcoinskeptic, enjoy your weekend

Mrs Bird you always come up with something different, these look absolutely amazing! I would never have thought of making tomato chips ;)

I know you'lve done this right? It's so easy to dehydrate snacks like this, we love to hike like you do, and dehydrated makes everything so much easier to carry around. Potatos, zucchini, and all fruits, soooo easy :) Have a fabulous weekend :)

Have a great trip and enjoy your healthy snacks

Thanks for being an active member of STEEMUSA !tip

Thanks @tattoodjay, I hope your weekend is going well with the family :)

I enjoy your recipes, I started to collect them, thank you so much. I wish I had the time to make all these goodies. 😊

Thank you @starjewel that means a lot to me. Now that I have more time I realize how much I love to create in the kitchen. Being able to share my "successful" experiments with you all is really fun. I hope you'll try these some day and enjoy them :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60782.22
ETH 2915.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64