First Born - A story on Love for PowerHouseCreativessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

nh9h7h8rf8.jpg

SOURCE

On January 28, 1986 - the day the spaceship Challenger blew up - my first born child, Ryan William Smith came into this world. After two hard days of labor and an emergency C-section, this 9lb 9oz baby boy was finally in my arms.

All parents know the joy of the birth of a child. And the love and sacrifice of raising them. You bring this tiny (well in this case, not so tiny) bundle home and you’re petrified that you won’t know what to do. The enormity of it all hits you when you think of the lifelong commitment you have made.

You are responsible for everything - teaching them to walk, talk, feed themselves. Go the the bathroom, tie their shoes, how to read, manners, etiquette, morals. All the things both tangible and intangible that constitutes growing an infant to a man.

Birthday parties, their first bicycle, starting a college fund. Reading the same bedtime story over and over because it’s a favorite.

You bandage their skinned knees, hold their hand - scared out of your mind but staying strong for them - during their first trip to the hospital to get stitches. You attend every single sporting event they participate in, from YMCA youth T-ball to 4 years of college basketball. You suffer through their first broken heart, right along with them.

We put him through college, cried with pride when he earned his degree in Criminal Justice. Then cried again a few months later when we sent him off to war. After a year’s terrifying tour to Afghanistan, there were tears of joy when we welcomed him back home safe and sound.

But what happens when things go horribly wrong? When you are witness to the trainwreck of a life and all you can do is watch the headlights boring down, powerless to stop it?

What happens when your beloved son becomes an opioid addict, loses his job, loses his family, loses his freedom to a jail sentence?

What happens is this - you’re still there for him, you write, send money, visit him in prison. Watch him come out of the addiction and become your son once again.

What happens is this - YOU STILL LOVE HIM.

blueeyes8960.gif


[credit@EdibleCthulhu]


99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWYov37C6BjUdaTZT29DGryrTpwwdpqCgirPemMU3z3txPKvruXNYFGvejqt3VogK8zZfNHzdqCvnNPsC5V9vS9.gif

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Addiction is such a tough thing--not just for that person but all the people who love him! I have a few people I am close with that are having their lives turned upside down by similar things right now. My heart goes out to you, and I hope he can get the help he needs to be whole again! 💓

It is a horrible thing. Statics about the opioid crisis are all well and good, but you don't realize how devastating it is until it hits close to home. He is doing good right now, he sees what a mess he made and takes full responsibility. I'm not sure how 3 years in prison is supposed to make him a better person, and what I've seen first hand of the criminal penal system is not encouraging. But that's a whole other topic. Thanks for your comment and I hope your people can get straightened out before they hit bottom.

My best friend from high school lost her brother to an overdose when he was in his very early 20's. I think that was the first time it really hit home for me how devastating it could be. Though we have lots of alcohol addiction on my mom's side of the family, I have mostly been shielded from it since my paternal grandfather died before I was born and I'm not close with one of the other members who has had major issues.

I'm glad your son is doing better. Though I would wholeheartedly agree--the punishment does not fit the crime in many of the drug cases. There is a lot wrong with the justice system in that respect. I think my boyfriend was telling me there is a country now that is offering free drug rehab for anyone who seeks help and it is really helping cut down on drug-related crime and keeping the prison population down. I'll have to ask him where it was again...

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blueeyes8960 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You made me cry

I cried too while I was writing it. Thanks for letting me know that it moved you.

Thank you for sharing you for sharing your story. I will keep your family in my thoughts and prayers.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your thoughts and prayers. He is doing well now but I'm very apprehensive about how he's going to do when he gets out. We'll take all the prayers we can get!

I honestlly don’t know how I’d be
I see mothers like these and I am amazed at the amount of love they have for their child.
My Mum was like this and so was my grandmother
And to scare my kids I tell them “Don’t think I will be like that! Love is a two way thing. You’ve got to meet me halfway”
But push comes to shove, will be like you and my Mum over all my bravado talk ..:. I hope I never have to find out
Thank you for sharing such a personal story with us 💗

I hope you never have to find out either. It is so heartbreaking, to think of what he has gone through, and what he has put his family through. But he has the chance to come out of this a stronger person, and I'll support his efforts to overcome his mistakes.

I believe that the mother and child love were the eternal and complete

Posted using Partiko Android

It has to be the strongest bond, or else we would end up giving up somewhere along the line. And you are never through trying to parent them, even after they become adults.

This is a sad story but I am glad it had turned to a positive path for all of you.
Blessing to you and family.

Thanks @joelai. We appreciate the blessings too!

Don't mention it.

It is something I could never relate to; No one can ever come close to being a mother or ever have feelings of a mom.

it is love in the purest form.

When a child is born, a mother is born too.

It has to be that way, or else no child would live past his teenage years, lol.

Hello @blueeyes8960, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01