You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel adventures - Křivoklát

This looks a marvelous place. I wonder if it was the Furstenberg family that Diane Von furstenberg married into?

I love visiting properties like this, but when they are not still owned by the families and still partially used by them, I always feel sad. For some reason the idea that it belongs to the state makes it seem so cold like the rooms just sitting empty at nights wishing to hear the laughter of children or the care of familial owners.

I LOVE those sleighs. When I was young we used to go to a place to cut our Christmas trees and you went in a horse drawn sleigh to the woods to have your tree cut, it's a magical way to travel.

Sort:  

Oh, I have no idea to be honest :) I just know that this family is from Luxembourg..

I agree with you. It's a pity that these castles are not used anymore but it is for a reason. It's so expensive to maintain a castle so that they rather sell it to the state and make a museum out of it. Just to heat it up costs a fortune. Most of these castles are very cold inside, like freezing.. sometimes it feels warmer outside in the winter..

It sounds so nice! I always use to love sleighing when I was a child. We had a hill next door where we went and I remember that it was like climbing Mount Everest to come up and then you feel like a queen when you go down, so fast :) Now when I look at the hill, it is just a hill..

Thank you for stopping by and for your kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64172.03
ETH 3144.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85