You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chasing a dream...

Wow, good luck Martina!
Starting a new business is at the same time challenging and refreshing!
But having to pass a test in order to apply for a license sounds to me so strange, it is completely different from the Greek reality :)

Sort:  

Well, Switzerland has strict rules that you have to follow. In order to get a license to open some shop/cafe/restaurant with food and beverages here you have to proof certain experience in gastronomy, or study relevant school, or there are other options. The only suitable option for me was to do the test as I neither have the experience nor the right school.

The problem here is that the license is personal, it is not for the business but for you. I could have hired a professional chef and do the license on his/her name but if this person would leave I would have an issue. Considering that the license is 3000 CHF I would not want to do it every year or so. Plus you run into issues as the person having license is actually leading the business and I would not want to give such rights to someone else.. I know that some people do it but I consider it a risk that I don't want to take..

I totally understand you, I would probably have done the same, if I was in Switzerland. The funny thing is that some friends and I are trying to open a cafe - restaurant here, in Crete and our main problem is that we are facing a chaotic bureaucracy were no one can tell us exactly what we have to do! I am beginning to think that strict rules are not so bad as long as you know them in advance :)

I have never been to Crete but would like to go one day so let me know the name once you open so that I can come and visit you. AND don't forget to put vegan options on the menu!!! :D

It's so strange to hear that it's working like this over there. Here you get the list with all the requirements and they are always there to help you (the list is also available on the official page of the city). I've been there several times already and they answer any question that you have. So supportive!

But on the other hand it must be easy for you. Just open it if no one gives you instructions.. then they can' penalize you for not fulfilling them, right? :D

But on the other hand it must be easy for you. Just open it if no one gives you instructions.. then they can' penalize you for not fulfilling them, right? :D

Ha ha ha!!! That was the best description of the Greek reality I have ever heard!
Don't worry if we ever open it I'll make a proper shooting and a long post about it and vegan options are high in my to do list, too :)

Good! Then I will finally have a reason to visit Greece :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87