My FIRST EVER Freewrite Post- Prompt: Carnation

Image Source- Unsplash- Alex Blăjan

The first flower I can ever remember receiving was a carnation. Not one... not two... but one dozen. I was a freshman in high school and we had certain days throughout the year (usually homecoming dance and the Sadie Hawkins Dance- where the girl invites the guy) that our student council would have flower sales. You would purchase one or however many you wanted and have them sent to that person.

I was never popular in school- always the library geek and had my nose buried in a book; needless to say I was not expecting anyone to buy me a flower- let alone 12!

I can recall sitting at my desk during fifth hour (biology class) and my name being called. I was so surprised. I remember walking to the front of the class and one of the student council members handing me the bouquet of pink, red and white carnations. my heart and stomach were ALL a flutter!

So who was the person that sent them to me? A senior!!

He was one of my older brothers' friends and apparently he had a crush on me; although I never knew it. Was always too busy reading, at the library or working my part-time job.

His name was Dennis; and even though we never officially dated, he will always be remembered as the guy who sent me my first flowers: The CARNATION

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

See @mariannewest's post here for more details

Regarding the freewrite challenge- I've been wanting to participate in this challenge every week for months and months and for some reason, this word "carnation" transported me back in time and I just had to write.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Welcome and congratulations on your first freewrite -- what a fine way of telling a sweet story!

Welcome to our happy freewriting band and may I say you're off to a fine start; a romantic reminiscence with a little mystery thrown in.......why was it that Dennis didn't get the chance to win your fluttering heart?

Awwww!! That’s so sweet! Love your first freewrite! 💜

Posted using Partiko iOS

You're welcome! Keep on writing whit us...

Loved this story. How kind of him.

And the burning question: Were they the scented ones?

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.915 which ranks you at #1214 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 170 contributions, your post is ranked at #14.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00