Ulog 137: 84 Ears Of Sweet Corn Processed & On The Pantry Shelf

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

What do you get when you shuck 84 ears of sweet corn? Thirty pints of corn in the pantry and ready to be enjoyed this winter of course!

corn done.jpg

So how did I spend my Tuesday morning... and afternoon? Yup, you guessed it!
Shucking seven dozen ears of corn. Cutting thousands and thousands of kernels off the cob. And finally processing all those kernels to preserve them for our winter time pleasure.

This was not an easy task either. I had to take numerous breaks; as the numbness in my left fingers was a roadblock and after finishing the cutting off of the kernels my left shoulder and upper back were both on fire. But I DID IT!

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Let's just say this was a chore that took most of my energy, time and determination to complete in one day. Seven dozen ears of sweet corn; in the books for 2019!

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Thank goodness for this new kitchen tool I found at the Goodwill store months ago. Never used, still in the original packaging. It stripped the kernels from the cob in record time!

I ended up with having the pressure canner pull double duty; as it did two full processing times to accomplish and preserve ALL 30 pints of sweet corn.

Processing time 55-minutes at 10-lbs of pressure
1/2-teaspoon of canning salt added to each pint
Boiling water poured onto kernels before sealing the lids

All I can think about now is that when the winter winds are blowing outside and blizzard like snow conditions are swirling, we can be indoors enjoying some fresh sweet corn just as we did this summer with our dinner.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

TIBLogo


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Wow! That's so cool. Never tried anything like that before.

Namaste, JaiChai

That corn looks delicious!

It's the best sweet corn I've ever had! I look forward to it every summer

What kind of corn was it? Peaches and Cream? Candlestick? I bought some really good stuff from the market down the street from my house the other day. They were selling it 3 ears for $1 which actually seems a little expensive, but for just the two of us it was fine. My mom used to get theirs from my cousins farm and then she would boil it, take it off the cob, and then food save it.

It's actually called Ambrosia. A local farmer grows it and I get it from him. It's the most delicious sweet corn I've had

Three for $1!! Yikes! The local farmer sells his for 25/cents an ear, but if you buy in bulk like I did he sells me a dozen for $2.

That is pretty awesome. We have been trying to get down to the local farmers market but our Saturday mornings just fill up faster than we can plan. I love good sweet corn. I really can't think of anything more disappointing than a bad ear of corn... :) okay, maybe I can...

That is a lot of corn!! Did you grow it or did you buy it?

Oh I had to buy it. I only love on about 1/3 of an acre of land and have to plan ahead for gardening. There's a local farmer I buy from... he has the BEST corn... tomatoes... everything!

I never quite get enough corn to save for Winter. I have yet to process any so I'm writing down your pressure can info and the salt for a later date. Looks tasty!

Well done!! I know that took every ounce of energy you had. We have been canning for two weeks now our garden's produce. We are so tired but it is all so worth that fresh-tasting veggies in the cold, winter months. Enjoy!!!

I just love the fresh corn plucked from the garden and bake it any stove to enjoy the sweetness...while writing this I am eating one corn😎

lol- Lucky you!!! Sweet corn is summer delight for us. We would eat it every day

We have them only now during rainy and have grown few of my own

We have a decent supplier of non-GMO corn. Usually (but not this year) we order 15 doz ears which is 3 sacks of corn. It takes us most of the day, and makes an awful mess, but we managed to get it done in 1 day. The corn is blanched before removing it from cob, as we freeze it.

So I am impressed you did all that by yourself!

This corn will be so tasty during the colder months.

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.905 which ranks you at #1281 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1280).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 116 contributions, your post is ranked at #93.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • Try to show your post to more followers, for example via networking on our discord!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01