Ulog 140: Dehydrators Running Constantly

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

Yesterday was such a cool day, it reminded me that autumn is knocking on our door here. Gone was the summer humidity and high temperatures and we had cloudy skies with a cool breeze; barely topping 75-degrees.

So this weather change had me rushing around outside to gather up more herbs and flower petals to get into the dehydrators so I can use throughout the winter months.

Mr Golden D had purchased some roses for me last week; in appreciation for all that I do around the homestead. He knows I work hard and every so often he splurges and will buy me something special as a thank you (as well as an I love you)

I'm not sure how normal it is, but as soon as I saw the roses, the first... well second, thing I thought about was how I couldn't wait until the rose petals started to die off some so I could dehydrate them and add to my herbal cupboard. These will be perfect for my homemade soaps and salves!

We have roses on the homestead, but they are all yellow. So these pink ones will be a nice addition.

Other herbs and flowers I harvested for the dehydrator; as well as for their seeds were:

  • Calendula (petals and seeds)
  • Feverfew (seeds)
  • Basil
  • Thyme
  • Parsley
  • Variety of peppers (to dehydrate to make into a powder)
  • Stevia
  • Chamomile
  • Nasturtium (petals)
  • Mint
  • Lemon Balm
  • Sage
  • Oregano
  • Wild lettuce (seeds)
  • Zinnia (petals)

It definitely was a busy day in the gardens and in the homestead kitchen. Now I'm hoping to be able to make soap next week and use some of my nasturtium, calendula and zinnia flower petals in them.

hhh.jpg

Lemon balm, sage and parsley.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

TIBLogo


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

The roses are lovely...your hubbz is very romantic and you deserve the flowers... I am anxious about your homemade soaps... I've been wanting to do it at home, have all the books and yet ..somehow I haven't the guts yet to start that project... maybe someday... you're an admirable busy lady... cheers!

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.902 which ranks you at #1286 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 105 contributions, your post is ranked at #30.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You are doing really well with the dehydrating. I had to back off when I was doing Freezer Camp. Now the first day I have free it's to be 87F and humid. But it will go back to 70's and I will get the dehydrators going again.

I love dehydrating our herbs and flowers. Such a pretty rose and a kind husband. I'd like to offer some food for thought though....be mindful of using store-bought roses. Often they are sprayed with a lot of chemicals to keep the pests and disease at bay and then sprayed again after cutting to help keep them fresh looking for longer. These chemicals can be absorbed into your skin, which is, after all, your biggest organ. I know they are so pretty and it is so tempting to use them, but they may be best left as a table decoration. Just a thought. With lots of love from Bren ~Kindred Acres.

Well the cool sure didnt last long here! Summer came back with a vengence. Made to feel even warmer coz I was getting used to the cooler already lol.

Ah! I hadn't thought of using the dehydrator for herbs! I need to snack myself in the head! We have lots of parsley, thyme and Basil that probably won't survive the wind... So this would be great idea! The rosemary will probably be fine...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75