Ulog 53: Forget An Instant Pot- I'll Always LOVE My Crockpot

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

I have never been this way before in my life. I have always been a do it yourself kind of a gal. Even when I was working two or three jobs at the same time while raising my three teenagers; I RARELY ever did this. So why now? Why do I turn to this so often now?

I am falling back in love with my crockpot!



I know most people now-a-days have an Instant Pot pressure cooker small appliance; but since I don't have the money saved for one, I have reverted back to my ol' stand-by crockpot. I love how the food cooking throughout the day fills the house with deliciousness. And how these are the traditional one pot meals. Or how about how you can stick it all in there, leave the house and come home to dinner all done. Or perhaps it's the way you can practically throw any meat in there with a can of cream of whatever you have on hand and create a creamy and dreamy meal.

Nothing says comfort food like a slow cooked dinner with the meat falling off the bone and a savory sauce.

(Pictured above) Some country-style pork ribs getting ready for the low knob to be turned on.

I've used my crockpot more this past autumn and winter than I ever have. Three or four times per week. It's not that I'm lazy in the kitchen (far from that), I just appreciate the ease of using it, creating new meals and experimenting (now) with keto-friendly dinners; and my crockpot allows me that convenience.

Using my crockpot always reminds me, and takes me back, to when I was a little girl and my mom was working a night shift part-time. She'd wrestle the crockpot out of the lower kitchen cupboard, dump in chicken, some cream of mushroom or chicken soups, some seasonings and vegetables and turn it on low. It was my job when I got home from school to dump in the rice or pasta she had measured out and left on the kitchen counter for me. This made me feel so important; as if I was a chef and dinner was of my doing and creation.

Or other times when we'd go to my maternal grandma's for Sunday dinner and Gramma would have a whole chicken, a few Cornish hens or whatever she had in her freezer that would fit into the crockpot and she'd start adding vegetables from the pantry. She'd toss in some homemade broths; add in a whatever she could find... and let me tell you- IT ALWAYS CAME OUT DELICIOUS! We rarely had repeat meals at Gramma's house.

Two meals I made in my crockpot in the last few months including Beef & Broccoli and Smoked Kielbasa with sauerkraut and potatoes.

Lamb Roast

I had never made lamb before in my life and was leery of how to cook it; so I grabbed my crockpot and gave it a try. It turned out perfect!

I seasoned it up with my special BBQ mix of herbs, garlic, onion and other seasonings and let it cook on low for about 4 hours with a cup of beef broth as the liquid. It was so tender the next day we had lamb wraps with cucumber slices, Feta cheese and a dill sauce for lunch. This is a definite recipe I will repeat once I find another good sale on lamb at the local butcher's shop.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_round.png

Join Us On Discord

Sort:  

I have been in and out with liking the crockpot. For one, I am super freaky about led in the glaze of the insert. Most are made in China where not always the same rules apply.
Then, most recipes need meet to be delicious in a crockpot. For many years, I didn’t eat meat....
My roommate has one and she made some delicious greens in it...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hmmm, greens, you say? I'll have to search for some recipes online... I LOVE GREENS!

I get what you're saying about the coating too. I used to use the crockpot/slow cooker bags... but keep forgetting to buy more.

Hm - but then, you have plastic on your food and more waste... Life has so many things to consider :)

Beef Stew...Pork Roast... AAAHHHH it s smell that I always love coming home to. Especially after a day like today out working in the snow.
The old trusty crockpot....just throw a bunch of stuff in and set it and forget it. Lol.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think the crockpot meals were the original dump meals!

And yes... after a day in the snow and cold, a crockpot dinner is perfect!

Yum. The lamb looks so juicy good.

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.802 which ranks you at #1378 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 247 contributions, your post is ranked at #75.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I wouldn't write off an Instant Pot too fast. I love that they not only have the pressure cooker setting but they also have a slow cooker setting which lets you choose or mix/match.

For example, when I want to make baked beans. I don't need to remember to put them out to soak the night before. I can soften the beans with the pressure cooker, drain them and then assemble my pot of baked beans and leave them on using the slow cooker. The whole process, literally in one pot.

Same with soups from bones to broth in pressure cooker, then soup in the slow cooker.

I love not only that my cooking can be done in one pot, but clean up is so dang easy. Oh, for those worried about lead in the glaze, the instant pot is stainless steel.

" Even when I was working two or three jobs at the same time while raising my three teenagers;" This brought so many memories back to me. My mom worked double shifts in a printing works to provide for the three of us and my grandmother. This is one of the reasons why I have so much respect for women. At Papillon we also pay special attention to woman headed households! Blessings!

Howdy there goldendawne! hey I'm so out of it I've never even heard of an Instant Pot pressure cooker! I love the crock pot like you do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94