Ulog 57: Not Just Your Normal Latkas- These Are Keto-Friendly

Growing up in a Polish and Catholic household, I remember all the traditional foods my grandma and mom would cook. I can recall every year for Lent we'd forgo eating meat on Fridays and our Friday dinner menu usually consisted of salmon cakes (fish was allowed in our home) with Latkas (potato pancakes), some sort of fish and chips meal brought home by my dad from a local Roman Catholic Church's Fish Fry dinner with a healthy serving of cole slaw on the side or when my mom was working her second job, dad would order plain cheese pizza... UGH! No pepperoni?

This went on until Good Friday.

So for six weeks, we had no meat Fridays. No lunch meat sandwiches for lunch. No bacon for breakfast. No meat was allowed to be consumed on Friday. (This didn't even count the thing(s) we had to give up for Lent). Giving up meat once a week seemed to take its toll on my brothers; but I was OK with it.

  • Side note- I AM even giving up having my Fat Tuesday tradition of eating a paczki.

In Poland, pączki are eaten especially on Fat Thursday (Tłusty Czwartek), the last Thursday prior to Ash Wednesday and the beginning of Lent. The traditional reason for making pączki was to use up all the lard, sugar, eggs and fruit in the house, because their consumption was forbidden by Christian fasting practices during the season of Lent.
In North America, particularly the large Polish communities of Chicago, Detroit, and other large cities across the Midwest and Northeast, Paczki Day is celebrated annually by immigrants and locals alike. The date of this observance merges with that of pre-Lenten traditions of other immigrants (e.g., Pancake Day, Mardi Gras) on Fat Tuesday. With its sizable Polish population, Chicago celebrates the festival on both Fat Thursday and Fat Tuesday; pączki are also often eaten on Casimir Pulaski Day. In Buffalo, Toledo, Cleveland, Detroit, Grand Rapids, Milwaukee, South Bend, and Windsor, Pączki Day is celebrated on Fat Tuesday.

Image Source- Wikipedia

I'm not sure if it's the upcoming Ash Wednesday in two days, thoughts of memory lane or the fact that we have been a keto-friendly household for the last nine weeks... but I was craving some Latkas. But potatoes are on the no-no list of foods we eat now.

So what to do?

Substitute the potatoes for this newest creation... Mashed Cauliflower!

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Mock Latkas' (Potato Pancakes') Recipe

  • 2- packages of the frozen mashed cauliflower heated according to package directions
  • 1/2-3/4 cup of flour- I used Almond Flour
  • 1 egg
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 fresh onion grated- I ran mine through my food processor
  • Garlic powder to season
  • 1/2 teaspoon parsley

Mix all together and form the dough- it should be a thicker consistency of regular pancake mix. Let thicken for about half hour before frying.

Heat oil in non-stick pan. I used grapeseed oil as it does well under intense heat and to properly prepare these potato pancakes, you need high heat. Once oil is heated, spoon some of the pancake mix into the pan (see image below on left).

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png



Let the first side fry up for a good ten minutes. Keep checking the bottom of the pancake to make sure it is browning up correctly.If you try to flip the pancake too soon, it will fall apart.

Once you have flipped and fried the second side, remove from pan and place in a 250-degree oven for another 15-20 minutes until completely cooked through. If not, it will be doughy on the inside.

Serve with a dollop of sour cream, ketchup or even cocktail sauce; which every condiment is your preference.

Honestly... if you did not see the package stating it was cauliflower, you would have NEVER known!

Mr Golden D loved them; as did I. We are definitely going to be having these again when the carb munchies hit us. I have a few more packages of these in the freezer and will not think a second longer when the craving for potatoes strikes.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_round.png

Join Us On Discord

Sort:  

This makes me think of one of my favorite snacks, cauliflower drenched in franks red hot sauce! Lol

What a great idea to use cauliflower for your pancakes! I love potato pancakes but haven't made them in years. Your recipe seems easy enough to make. I'll have to give it a try.

Since I started my Wildfit program, cauliflowers have been my "best friend"! And I'm totally loving it, because each day I'm finding new ways to cook it so I won't get bore with it too fast, I kinda have to live with it for another few more months!

Yum, they look good. I really like cauliflower mashed "potatoes" but never thought of making latkas from it, what a great idea, thanks for the recipe. We eat the heck out of the latkas during Hanukkah every year, I think I'll try making some of these soon.

Who knew the power of cauliflower? I sure did not. I tried the pizza "dough" idea with it and it was fabulous. Now a latka replacement? Be still my keto heart!!!

Thank you so much for this post. I will have to try to make it on my own since I am in Malaysia. But I sure will give it try.

That is a GREAT idea! I have really enjoyed my cauliflower keto pizza crusts, I make little ones and use them for all my "bread" substitutions and I do "mashed spud" cauliflower but those look super yummy, more like a "hash browns" thing!

Cauliflower is one food I consistently forget to use. When I go to the grocery store, an entire head of cauliflower is so daunting. I usually only use a quarter of it and the rest goes bad. With this recipe, I may be able to use the whole thing up! Thanks for sharing. I never would have thought to throw them in the oven after frying them.

#powerhousecreatives

😍😋 Now on my need to try this list..!

Thank You🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.814 which ranks you at #1373 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1372).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 208 contributions, your post is ranked at #24.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hmm an interesting substitute for potatoes. I am wondering if you could also make hash browns out of it. How it would taste like is now lingering in my head.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94