Ulog 75: Kitchen Chore- Seasoning Wooden Utensils

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

Recently I added a few new wooden kitchen utensils to my collection on the homestead, but before I actually used them for cooking, I needed to season them good with oil.

From what I have known, used and read about, you can use any food safe oil (ie. coconut, walnut, almond and even mineral oil) to seal the wood.

Extended water and moisture from cooking that stays on the wood spoons can eventually cause the edges to start to split, retain odors and finally make you have to replace a favorite spoon.

I first learned about sealing, or seasoning, wood kitchen utensils and spoons from my maternal grandmother. Every few months she'd sit down with an oil (she usually used mineral oil) and would clean the spoons first, dry immediately and then start rubbing on the oil using a clean cloth. I can remember sitting at her kitchen table as she rubbed and scoured the wood as if it were the family's heritage china or silver. Grandma took great pride in her cooking, kitchen and food.

One time I asked her why she was oiling up the spoons and she said "it made them last longer and made her food taste better". She even had said her mother and grandmother used bacon fat to polish up their kitchen utensils. That was how she learned the value of this task.

So when I started my own family and used wooden mixing spoons, I always seasoned them up as she had. After all... my grandma was a very smart lady with frugal values (growing up during the depression era and wanting to make the spoons last longer) and I took her teachings as gospel.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

I will admit I have never used mineral oil to season and seal my spoons; I prefer coconut or walnut oil for this task. I just envision mineral oil as something to polish up shoes and leather; not my spoons.

So the other day when I sat down to clean, check for rough splintered areas and to seal up the new spoons, I gathered up my current spoons and spent an hour doing this simple chore.

It's not really too time consuming and I was actually watching/listening to some YouTube videos about gardening, so I had some time to polish these babies up. It's a mindless task... almost relaxing some days.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

  • Check for splintered areas or spots that may need a little sanding down. I prefer to use a medium grit sandpaper (I had #60 on hand) and I smoothed out the possible places that needed it. Then wash the wooden utensils with warm soapy water, rinse and dry immediately to keep the water from soaking in.

  • Allow the wood to dry completely

  • If using coconut oil, make sure to warm slightly so it is in the liquid form; and if using other oils just use straight from the bottle or container. Use a clean cloth to rub oil in.

  • Rubs a generous amount of oil all over the spoon or utensil saturating the wood.

  • Let sit for about 30 minutes then using another clean cloth and wipe away any excess oil.

  • Let sit for about 24-hours to cure and season. Then you can use. Depending on your own personal use of the wood utensil will determine the frequency that you would have to re-season them. I use mine on a daily basis and generally do this task every four to six weeks.

  • While I do have an automatic dishwasher, I do NOT wash any wooden utensils in there.I hand wash ALL of them (and hand dry immediately). The water and heat from the dishwasher can cause the oil to break down faster and ruin it.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_round.png

Sort:  

Very interesting information. I will go and oil my wooden utensils.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good to hear. I never was sure about mineral oil so I just used olive or coconut on my wooden utensils and cutting boards. Seems to work just fine.

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for ulogging today. While it looks like a simple fun art, you are also denting your ulogacies daily into the sands of time and this is testimonial. Tunnels will begin to get lights as a result of your shine.

You have been sent some teardrops token to celebrate you. You can find or transfer these steem-based tokens on 'https://steemgigs.org'. Simply login via steemconnect, then click on your 'profile-thumbnail > wallet'

The teardrops tokens will be useable on ulogs.org, steemgigs.org and macrohard.pro also as a 'token of influence'. You can get some more here

While you are on steemgigs, it will be awesome if you took time to fill up an in-depth steem profile. To do so click on 'profile-thumbnail > edit profile'.

If you are interested in getting 'certified' under the teardrops SMT, kindly add in your 'best email' onto this google form

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Wow this is the first time I'm hearing about this, very interesting. I currently use plastic utensils, but was thinking about getting wooden ones. Now I know what to do. Thanks.

Posted using Partiko Android

I did this with my cutting boards that my buddy and I made, but I had never thought about doing it with my wooden utensils. I think a lot of mine are bamboo so they area bit more dense and forgiving than a standard wooden spoon. I can definitely see the benefit of this though. Nice write up!

We also never wash the wooden kitchen tools in the dishwasher. Luckily we don't have many of those because my wife hates the feeling of it :)

Wow, good to know @goldendawne. We take our most prized kitchen utensils for granted! Time to oil! :)

Up until now, i never knew wooden kitchen utensils have to be seasoned with oil to make them last longer. We indeed learn everyday. Thank you for sharing this.

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.827 which ranks you at #1369 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 7 places in the last three days (old rank 1362).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 359 contributions, your post is ranked at #26.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55