Sweet Potato Shepherds Pie!

sweet potato shepherds pie!.png

Over the last few years I have sacrificed many of my favourite comfort food meals, because I over and above the intermittent fasting, I try to eat as few carbs as possible (I am mostly unsuccessful at this though hahaha) But after some time, this gets a little long in the tooth, so you learn to find "other" ways to bring those old "loves" back into your life... And once you start exploring that avenue, which I did several years ago - you will realise that it really isn't that hard to create an "almost" equal...

There is something so wonderfully inviting about comfort food! They are the kind of meal that just give you that warm and fuzzy feeling! I have always loved Shepherds Pie, and although this "version" is not made with traditional potato, it is not ANY less tasty!


Ok so essentially this is like any cottage pie,
except with added extras...
and topped with something a little different...

So, first of all instead of a traditional mashed potato topping,
we are going to do a sweet potato and butternut mash...

Boil those up until nice and tender,
mash, add some butter, salt and pepper
and then put one side.

1.jpg

For the mince base, you will need mince... duh! lol

Heat a pot with some olive oil,
and when ready,
as lazy Jayne does... she throws it all in at one go -
yeah - I make my own rules lol!

And by "all" I mean:

I like to add all kinds of leftovers -
which I did this time around...

as well as a few fresh additions -
which consisted of some julienne carrots and French chives.
The "waste not want not" ingredients consisted of
some left over salsa rice, plain rice,
some herbs in the fridge that were past their prime,
a bit of "not suitable for a salad anymore" baby spinach
and an onion which I had chopped, sealed and not used...

3.jpg

And so... it ALL goes in!!!

5.jpg

including some chopped garlic,
a chicken stock cube,
a couple of bay leaves,
some chicken spice
and some chutney ;)

6.jpg

I was not kidding when I said I throw it all in at once lol
I don't saute anything lol -
I literally just throw it all in...

I am guessing the guys will like this - lol...
"no mess, no fuss" hahaha!!!!

7.jpg

so yes, the above photo is where the "almost" low carb
part comes in, but I mean honestly,
in the grand scheme of things, if I got 20 grains on my plate,
it was a lot - and I am ok with that haha!

Ok, so once the sweet potato and butternut mash are done,
as well as the mince -
then you need to put them into an oven dish....

8.jpg

be sure to compress the mince nicely,
with the back of a spoon or such -
as this makes "serving" a lot easier later....

add the mash and be sure to spread it
evenly all over.
On this occassion I combined sweet potato and butternut
50 / 50 for the mash
I am not a fan of a "smooth top"
I prefer a "rugged" look,
so I use a fork for this...

then pop it under the grill,
don't walk away for too long,
otherwise it will be completely black haha!

9.jpg

I then crumbled a little feta cheese
and chopped french chives on top,
and put it back into the oven at a VERY low temp...
like 50 degrees Celsius - just enough to keep it warm,
and slightly soften the feta.

10.jpg

I served this very simply...
A little grated cucumber, some Italian tomatoes,
and a slide of chutney and feta...

ENJOY!!

14.jpg

15.jpg

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

FOUNDER OF THE POWERHOUSE CREATIVES & STEEM SOUTH AFRICA

lifestyle & inspirations.png

www.rockyourworld.co.za

text15.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

A community of individuals who are dedicated to producing quality content
which adds value to the Steem network and beyond.

JOIN US HERE

text15.png

STEEMSA logo.png

Connecting the people of #STEEM across South Africa. #steemsa

JOIN US HERE

text15.png

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED

Sort:  

I was just thinking not more than an hour ago about how I would love to introduce more sweet potato into my life but didn't know how. I think I'll give this a go but I am not much of a cook so i would be willing to bet that I will mess it up.

One of the BEST things about cooking @gooddream is that it is nothing like baking! There is a LOT of room for creative licence and with simple dishes like this, it would be VERY hard to mess them up... so I do hope you give it a try! I cook a LOT with sweet potato so maybe I must do a "sweet potato special" post for your benefit! hehe :)

Apologies for the delayed response... I am sitting down for the first time with some free time to respond to everyone xxx

Hope you are having an excellent weekend!

Yummy...I like this

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you :)

Ok I'm into this💪

Posted using Partiko Android

I love sweet potatoes 😍 Such a fabulous idea! 💕🙏💕

Posted using Partiko Android

hahahaha!! just do it! ;)

My hubby loves shepard's pie! I've never made it with mince, that's just something available here, but I use ground beef, pork, or turkey - it all works. Now I love sweet potatoes, him not so much, but I think the mix of butternut squash and sweet potatoes would be divine.

Well I suppose hon, ground beef is pretty much the same thing - just not quite as juicy and tender as mince so nothing wrong with that! As for the mix - yes! that is precisely why I do it because it completely transforms the traditional "sweet potato" taste! Hope you try it xxx

Mixing butternut with sweet potato never thought of that before, well done @jaynie that looks like one wholesome meal.

Plus factor is using everything fresh even if starting to reach end of life! No mess no fuss, my kind of cooking...

Thanks hon! Yeah, I actually got that "mix" idea from my dad! :)

Nice, resteeming this to my collection of "give it a try" later. Not that I am a pie lover, but this gives me some ideas for "quiches"... where I mostly take advantage of leftovers... to magically create new stuff =)

Sounds poor thinking about food making, but actually tastes super nice.

Awesome @forykw! I hope you do and IF you do... please DO share! As for quiche.... mmmmmmmm YUM!!!!!! That is one of my REAL weaknesses haha - although... believe it or not, I have never made one! I will have to change that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75