Eureka !!

I think most people would like to have a lemon tree in their garden - the idea of being able to pick a fresh lemon when needed is a wish of most.

Should you not have a large garden, or perhaps only have a balcony, there is no reason for not having your own lemon tree as they can be grown very successfully in containers.

A great choice is the Eureka lemon which is very hardy and it produces a great deal of fruit.
In the photos below, is a eureka lemon that I gave to my son when he moved into his new home,
It is planted in a wine barrel and produces fruit constantly despite the fact that it is still quite small.

Lemon trees need a good fertile soil with lots of organic material and worm castings - as well as a good mulch to conserve moisture.
They are water guzzlers and so a deep watering is essential so that fruit can develop.
I use an organic fertilizer which is a slow release one.
A good sunny spot is necessary as if planted in a shady position, the tree will not produce much fruit.
Keep ants away from your tree as they will only cause other problems.
Should your lemon tree have leaves that are turning yellow, it can be that the tree needs magnesium sulphate - epsom salts - dissolve two tablespoons into five liters of water and pour around the base of the tree - repeat every two weeks until leaves improve.

Another thing to watch out for is the "orange dog" caterpillar which loves all citrus trees and can demolish new leaves very quickly - remove by hand.

Good feeding, deep watering, plenty of sunshine and fertile soil will keep your lemon tree producing fruit and is something that will reward you for years to come.

Sort:  

I think most people would like to have a lemon tree in their garden

Oh heavens YES!!! I would be making homemade lemonade, teas and dehydrating the rind for future homesteading concoctions! To say I'm jealous... understatement!

Do you not grow lemon trees in your area?

Oh, so beautiful ! I have always wanted a lemon tree of my own, to be sure, and this post is so motivational :D :D :D I will look around in my local nursery to see if they have the Eureka variation :D

To place them in a barrel pot like that is very charming, too <3 A wonderful post * ___ *

Thank you and I hope you find your lemon tree.

Hi @lizziesworld!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.496 which ranks you at #17179 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 7 places in the last three days (old rank 17186).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 226 contributions, your post is ranked at #138.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thanks for the timely advice on growing a lemon tree in a container.
I have a lemon tree growing that I have had for a few years but never fruited.
Now I know how to best treat it to get it to fruit, I even had the yellowing leaves and I have a good stock of Epson salts to help get over that problem.
Thanks again for sharing this!

My pleasure and I am sure you will get fruit soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70