Never enough Thyme

Last season I took a very small cutting of some thyme from my daughter @jaynie and planted it in one of my containers.
It took off like a rocket and spread rapidly and when it came into flower, it looked amazing - as you can see by the photo below.

I was so thrilled - and then ...

It just died!!!

I have no idea why - maybe grubs ate the roots, - or perhaps I fed the other plants around it with organic fertilizer and it did not like this - who knows?
Anyway, these things happen - I have now planted a new cutting, so we shall see what happens.

I love thyme for cooking and of course for the flowers that the bees go crazy for.

There are many different varieties of thyme - mine is the common thyme (supposed to be one of the hardiest) and there are quite a few interesting stories about this herb.

It is said that the Romans took it to Europe when they invaded and it was used as a powerful antiseptic - and still is today as it is the basis of most cough mixtures.
It was also used in prisons to prevent jail fever.

During the great plague in Britain, the ladies would put it into their small bouquets and sniff it when out and about to ward off germs.
This herb has also been used in embalming.

In many countries it grows wild and is kept trimmed by the local goats that pass by.

Sort:  

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

Wow that bush looked so healthy, hope it picks up again. Interesting how this herb has been used over the years!

No, It really died.

I had some thyme growing here at my house and it also mysteriously died one day. I'm still not sure what happened. And I knew thyme was a great herb for cooking, but I did not know any of those interesting facts about it!

Glad I am not the only one that this happened to - thanks for reading my post.

"Parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme" song lyrics that come to mind whenever I see a photo and a nice description of thyme dear friend.
It is indeed a great healing herb.
Sorry that your first batch died and let's hope that the new one will do better.
Blessings!

Yes indeed, I will watch the next one carefully - thanks for stopping by.

And I love thyme in tea, it really soothes the throat and lungs and it becomes easier to breathe)))

Yes it is excellent as a medicinal herb.

This has to be one of the loveliest shots of thyme I've ever seen. I just adore it!

Thank you - I was so proud of it and very sad when it died.

I use thyme when I'm cooking lamb and chicken usually.

I have not tried it with chicken but love it with lamb.

Ah... a bit heartening to know that even experienced gardeners can fail sometimes! I don't really use thyme so much (I use it for stuffing for chicken...), but my wife uses it much more. I prefer rosemary... although, for some reason our rosemary seems not to be growing so well...

PS: That title....

I do not think that there are any perfect gardeners - and those that think they are do not understand nature.
I make mistakes all the time but that is how we learn and it is a humbling experience.
A very good friend - sadly no longer with us, grew indoor plants on a wholesale basis and I remember walking through his plant tunnels and remarking how perfect all the plants looked and his reply was that growing plants makes you realize that nothing is ever perfect all the time and you can wake up one morning to find that everything has been wiped out by green fly -and this is something we should always remember.
So true

That is a great thing to remember... nothing is ever perfect!

Yes, life would be boring if it was.

Hi @lizziesworld!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.078 which ranks you at #10330 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 157 contributions, your post is ranked at #70.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Mine was in a pot and died in a similar way. I thought I over watered. I saw tiny little green bugs and got a photo. I was very sad.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05