Spring Onion greens

Due to the fact that I grow my spring onions in containers together with other veggies, I just harvest the top greens and do not pull out the entire onions.

I love the mild taste of these onions and they are so easy to grow - a sunny position, well drained soil and some organic ferilizer and they will thrive.

Once I have harvested the tops, they will regrow very quickly and then I have an ongoing supply to use as needed.
I just love having veggies that are cut and grow crops.

When I have harvested them, I chop them up and put them into a container in the fridge where they will keep for days.

Add these to soups, scrambled eggs, - and other egg dishes, potato salad, stews, sandwiches, garnishes and much more.

There are people that do not like onions, but the spring onion has a much milder taste and is really well worth trying and even kids will enjoy them.

Sort:  

Spring onions are the best! I always use them in wok cooking... or to make won tons (chinese dumplings...)

That sounds delicious - maybe you could share your recipe.

That I will, it's a post in draft... like many others...

I did the same thing too, let them grown endlessly...

Yes,they are so handy to have all the time.

Yup, that's what I love about them.

Thanks for stopping by

Those are great on top of salads!! I love the fresh flavor onion (and garlic) tops give to food!

Yes indeed - life would be boring without them

Very tasty although I have never grown them.
Healthy food!

They are indeed - you should try growing some.

We always have some of these growing, as well! They're one of the few things that always keep on going even when everything else seems to be lagging. My boyfriend is especially great at just going outside and clipping a few when he wants them. I like the idea of chopping some up and having them ready in the refrigerator, though, so I might just do that today!

Yes it is worth doing to make sure they are always on hand in the fridge.

That looks so delicious. We haven't grown too much this year. We have tomato and basil haha. We love to see so many people growing such great food! Be well

Building Ourselves - One Block at a time

#innerblocks

Discord-https://discord.gg/XnJtNjd
https://www.theinnerblocks.com/

I love tomatoes and basil too !!

This post was manually curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and/or a resteem.

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

Great way to have unlimited supply of spring onions. I love putting them on soups and a Philippine beef stew like dish called beef pares.

Hi @lizziesworld!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.067 which ranks you at #10500 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 86 places in the last three days (old rank 10586).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 116 contributions, your post is ranked at #45.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I love onions! All kinds. I don't believe there is anything I eat without some type of onion in the recipe (except for my morning oatmeal). They are also very healthy. I very seldom ever get colds!

You are so right - very healthy indeed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64038.31
ETH 3137.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86