Trying out this as an experiment

In a previous post, I spoke about the horrific number of grubs that had infested my veggie containers which I removed by hand so that I could prepare the containers for my new plantings.

While I was getting rid of the grubs, I was thinking of ways to prevent another infestation of these horrid little critters that do so much damage to plant roots.

I mentioned that maybe a plastic mesh might do the trick and so the other day I took an old piece of mesh that had previously contained some squash veggies.
I cut open the mesh bag and decided to put this over a container just above the soil and held it in place with some pegs.
Once the seeds germinate, I shall raise the mesh slightly and keep doing this until the seedlings are bigger.
At this stage, I shall then put fresh mesh on top of the soil, cutting slits in it so that the plants are now able to carry on growing but the top of the soil is kept covered by the mesh and will prevent the beetles that cause the grubs from getting into the soil.

I am now searching for the correct mesh - as the one in the photo is a temporary one.
Holding thumbs that my experiment will work.

Sort:  

Grubs are such a nuisance!!
I wish you luck with this new mesh- let us know how it goes!

I shall keep you posted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93