Two updates

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

I thought that I would share a couple of updates on my container veggies.

The first is my celery - it is growing very nicely and has loved all the rain that we have had recently.
This is such a wonderful crop to grow if you like cooking and is also such a great plant for your health.
Some people do not like the taste of raw celery, but one does not have to always have it raw, I cook it together with carrots, onions and garlic as a base for my bolognaise and it makes a huge difference to the taste.

If you are not into meat, then cook it as above and replace the onions with leeks and have that on top of pasta with olive oil and some cheese.

Raw celery is a nutrient dense veggie and makes a great juice together with some apples and it also is great to hydrate the body.

The next update is my garlic.
Last season I was too eager and pulled up my garlic too early, so this time I shall not make that mistake.
I planted much more this season - infact if all goes well, I shall have about twenty garlic bulbs to harvest.
When it is time to harvest, I shall do a post on the harvesting, drying etc., and share it.

Sort:  

Beautiful celery!

Garlic is ready when the first 2 bottom leaves have turned brown. :))

Some folk disagree - however, I have the date when planted so will let that guide me - and of course the weather.
Thanks for reading my post.

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a delayed resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

Looks great! Good gardening, well done.

Thank you for stopping by.

We also planted parsley and onions this year. Most of all I like the fact that they almost do not require care))

Yes, they are such easy crops to grow - thanks for stopping by

I find celery to be quite yummy actually.

How awesome to have so much garlic. I forget to plant every autumn! So much to think about when gardening, well done!

Posted using Partiko Android

I planted in autumn and will harvest sometime in spring - some people plant in spring and harvest in autumn.

Oh it's the first time I hear about planting in spring. I wonder if it grows just as much...

Posted using Partiko Android

You will have to give it a try

Looks like you are growing a forest. Nice to see these are going great!

Thanks for reading my post.

I put peanut butter on my celery @lizziesworld 😁 pimento cheese too, but not at the same time. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

That is something I have not heard of - the peanut butter!

It's definitely worth a try. I use creamy.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lovely that you're getting a good crop of celery and garlic!
I was thinking of planting some garlic in containers but do it in the spring when the saved bulbs are sprouting. This way I can have a bit more control if it is a really wet season to move them out of the rain for awhile or if they are late getting started i can bring them inside to finish them off.
Thanks so much for sharing!

My pleasure - and yes, planting in spring is fine

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97