That poor, old man

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

A few days ago, I met a man. He was confused, he does not remember anything to the point that I thought he does not even know how to swallow or chew his food. He is unsteady on his feet because he cannot remember how to use them. He is groaning. He is in terrible state.

eucharist-1591663_640.jpg

That day, I was very upset. I felt that whatever I do, I feel that my anguish, disappointment and frustrations in life is not completely expressed. But, I tried my best to compartmentalize and just focus on what I am doing.

In our Roman Catholic faith, we believe that the hands of a priest- which was anointed during his ordination is sacred. In fact, we have an unswerving belief that once a person becomes a priest, when he performs our rites- no matter what he does- he is an apostle and minister of Christ. Its kind of difficult to accept this concept before but for me, now that I am older, it makes sense. I don't really ask the sales lady in the grocery store if she is married, divorced or did anything that is contrary to my values and beliefs. Its the same with them too. I believe that they are like us, humans but once they perform our rites, they are embodying Christ in that moment.

We had such a pleasant chat. As much as I wanted to say that I gave more, I think that his presence alone healed me. When I met him, I felt at peace, I felt happy. Its a little something that puzzled me even then but, I simply cannot find an explanation. A part of me healed then. I was so close to giving up. I was just too hurt and broken to go on earlier that day. But this priest gave me hope. He made me happy. He healed a part of my soul.

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

Sort:  

That's why you were guided to go and care for the old man my friend.
Many miracles occur when we feel broken and it's the best times to pray to Christ, as He loves a broken heart!
Blessings!

Exactly and, I have never been happier

Glad to read this @nurseanne84 .. but I wonder, what if the old poor man not a priest, will it be a different meaning to you? Priest or not.. he's human and we should care about human.. coz God creates Human right?
Though sometimes we met human that more like a devil than a human. Once you start to focus on something you love.. you'll be fine.

I'm not quite sure @cicisaja.He was afterall the worst condition I have handled so far

Sometimes, living in the moment can feel the same as not knowing anything...

Hi, @nurseanne84!

You just got a 0.68% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I am so glad you felt this positive outcome from your work on this day. The work of caring goes beyond everything - even if our subjects know not or care not, in our caring for them our karma is being written - whether we care for people, plants , animals - it is all the same attention to life and love we are sharing and NONE goes un-noticed.
Have a beautiful day my dear friend !
RESTEEMED AND UPVOTED

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71