Watermelon Festival in Franklin, Tennessee

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

Welcome back Steemians!

I know majority were dealing with Steemit hiccups yesterday, the ones that do not rely on mirror sites, I have to say. But today we are back! Crossing fingers smooth sailing from here. To read more of what happened, I have resteemed the news from @steemitblog, please click here for the article => https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/engineering-update-ddos-wallet-steemdao

Continuing my story of our travel a couple of months back when we went to Nashville, Tennessee, if you have been following me for a bit, you might remember the video I uploaded to dTube for this festival.

I love going to festivals, farmer's markets, and whatnot. So when we learned that we were going to stay in Franklin, that was the first thing I googled. What would be happening on the days we would be there, etc. I listed a lot, but then plans changed. We headed to stay in Nashville instead. But since I so wanted to check the festival, I mean, come on, they had watermelon EATING contest, who would not want to see that, right? We tried our best to go to the festival, and it definitely was worth it!

It was darn hot in August, like seriously, we got so tanned and always looking so wet and sweaty, the boys had their hairs up tied in a bun most of the times haha We truly looked like outsiders, like you know, Canadians :P Could not stand the freaking weather. We were the only one who were sweaty like yuck, we looked funny :P But thank goodness for frozen watermelon! At first we thought they were like watermelon ice pop, but they truly were just frozen watermelon. We got a bunch, to help cool the boys and tone down their fussiness lol - by the way, we came there around 8ish, the market was already opened, packed, and the morning was already super hot.

The Franklin Watermelon Festival is an annual festival (they also have tomato festival which we missed mere days :-/) and the place was packed with customers, contestants, vendors, food trucks, and obviously kids. They had coloring contest and/or game and arts and crafts area, which the boys found to be entertaining much.

I did think to take part in the watermelon eating contest, but it was just a thought, thinking, hey, maybe I should participate, you know, make an awesome memory of our first time visit (ever) to Nashville/Franklin. But I ended wearing white t-shirt without thinking, and it was just too bloody hot to sit still, and I lost the boys and the father, nobody could record video that I had planned to put up on dTube, so that was that, but the main reason was, I chickened out, of course :P

Later on gloomy sky came, which could have been the reason why the day was super hot. As soon as the watermelon contest was done, we ordered an Uber and head to our next destination. So yeah, if you are not native to the area, no need to fret, it's not hard to go here and there because Uber can be your best friend ;-)

Definitely one farmer's market that I would love to come back and grab some goodies from. Definitely gonna return for their food/veggies/fruits festival(s). Definitely recommending you to check out Franklin and their yummy looking food trucks, which we did check but did not have time to get nothing as we were into the festival instead.

Thanks for looking! And if you'd like to see the video, please click here =>

!steemitworldmap 35.932776 lat -86.858018 long Franklin, Tennessee d3scr


Vote Witnesses!

https://steemit.com/~witnesses OR
https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=thekitchenfairy&approve=1


If you leave ANY link on my blog, I WILL flag you down. This is to avoid phishing and shits

Sort:  

i like the images of the watermelon carvings 😃 thx for sharing!

they were creative for sure.

thanks for visiting! :)

Ha! Hot sticky mess there, not sure I could do a watermelon eating contest either lmao!

We truly looked like outsiders, like you know, Canadians :P

That seriously cracked me up! Much love n hugs hun!😋🤗

hahah hot hot hot Tennessee

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=thekitchenfairy
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=watermelon-festival-in-franklin-tennessee


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

What a cool event i have never come across frozen watermelon before but it must be so refreshing on a hot day like that
the carving of the watermelons were so cool to see

since the day was super hot, like seriously hot, the coldness of the frozen watermelon was gone rather too fast. it was still good, but it was better when it was still solid frozen, because then it became rather soggy.

yes, we liked the carving as well :D

I hope I come across or maybe I will make my own in SUmmer here,it does sound a perfect treat for a hot summer day

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in today's Travel Digest. If you enjoy steemit worldmap and the manual curation effort we're going through each day, please consider supporting what we do!

You have all these festivals to go to
I can see why
They do look like a lot of fun
Next time you must take part and make that memory happen :D

there are tons in Asia too ;-)

i would love the tomato contest. supposedly they throw them at each other hyahahah

Maybe I have not been looking out for them
I shall be more diligent :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60463.70
ETH 2889.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59