Beerology : Abe Erb part 2

Approximately 16 days ago, I came to the conclusion that I am a Beerologist. Kinda like the Generation X tendency to not really be aware of one's specialties and strong talents. Well, there is no society of Beerology to deny me entry or dispute my case, so I am a Beerologist. Not just because of my lifelong and arduous effort to develop my pallet, but in work as well as I have helped implement and support the technology that makes many breweries tick.

Here us the post from a couple weeks ago where I hit the place with my technician to survey the operation and install the computer network https://steemit.com/steemitbloggers/@zekepickleman/another-chapter-in-beerology We returned last week to take the next step which was to install the point of sale system which will be the Sales/financial backbone of the business.

They had made a good amount of progress since we were last there and it looked like this.....

Here is the updated panoramic shot where you can see the seats have taken shape, lots of the building materials have been taken out, and the walls/counters are being completed...

IMG_5190.jpg

Point of Sale Hardware

IMG_5204.jpg

This location is using Touch Bistro https://www.touchbistro.com/ which is the point of sale system for restaurants that is pretty much the king of the hill for restaurants. iPads are not cheap as far as technology goes but MUCH cheaper, more usable and familiar to the millennials who will be making up most of your staff at a restaurant/brewery. Abe Erb prefers the more expensive but very nice Mantis Stands.

IMG_5211.jpg

Receipt printers and Kitchen Chit Printers are the other staff-facing hardware to unbox, configure and test. Probably 3 or 4 times the price of standard printers even though they are very simple compared to the home grade ones. The is because they are not disposable and are meant to be set and forgotten and work forever.

IMG_5216.jpg

The REAL work done by my technician was to activate the license, configure the "server" which is a Mac Mini, and get all of the devices talking to one another in preparation for opening. We are probably a couple weeks away from the grand opening but are WAY ahead of the other tradespeople as we have the advantage of being able to pre-configure everything in the lab and parachute in for short and focused visits.

IMG_5122.jpg

Seeing as there is a bit of work to do, there will be a liottle more Blood and Sweat before we can enjoy the Beers in this location. Probably 1 more visit and I will be blogging (maybe @tasteem?) about the opening day. These visits are the best because I get to show the support that comes with a premium technology partner, and drink beer while I am doing it.

Any other Beerologists here?

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

I like the forward thinking approach of using the iPads, thinking about the future employees. I'm not a beerologist myself, I'd probably combust if I did have one so best to stay away from that particular vocation hehe

iPads have been a revolution as old proprietary pos systems were clunky and expensive.

Yah leave the beer drinkin to me and the drum n bass to you and we are good.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha that sounds like a great deal 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

@zekepickleman, hey Beerologist, what is your job exactly, if not a secret?

Posted using Partiko Android

Only a partial secret. I run a small computer consulting company helping other small companies implement and run their technology. Restaurants are small and depend on their technology so breweries are a specialization I seem to have developed.

Posted using Partiko iOS

@zekepickleman, nice! Thank you for the detailed information. I hope you enjoy a lot your work.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @zekepickleman! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 350 posts. Your next target is to reach 400 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

My late father (with my mother's help) used to make his own beer. I found his recipe in my mother's recipe book the other day. It was a Saturday ritual for nearly 20 years. I'm sure he'd have cosidered himself a "beerologist" if he were still alive!

Beer? I'll drink to that!


via GIPHY

That is a nice place and I am loving the art! That has to be a lot of work to get all that going. And a long process on all that technology, unless its gotten easier from the last time I heard, which was a long time ago lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10