Drum making

in #powwow6 years ago

I was out with my brother in law last night, skinning buffalo hides like we usually do. Making drums.

We keep having people stare at us. Either that's the case or we just do it often enough that now and then people notice us.

It dawned on me last night that what we are doing is quite unique. Even though it is a time honoured tradition to be making drums by hand. I realized that of everyone in the city I know of who has a drum, or plays at the drum. That we are the only ones I knowbof to actually be making them.

Then another thing dawned on me. That after today, we will have made four drums. Normally you don't see more than a dozen at a pow wow. So, when I go to a pow wow this summer I can rightfully say. I've made nearly half the drums at the pow wow. Which is kind of astounding, for a white dude like me.

I'm not sure if I'm proud about that, or just overly observant. Either way. Those drums are going to sound good.

Sort:  

it is important and brilliant to always share you daily views,activities too..

So true. It's a habit I had been developing in a good way, until my life got too busy for my own good. And my health was in a decline. But now summer is back, the steem dollar is gaining power again, my health is returning, and I've got more personal time to devote to the blog.

That's very sweet of you boss, you really are full of excellent works...

Yeah! I'm glad to be in the position I'm at in life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60719.63
ETH 2911.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59