Seafood or No Seafood?

in #pregnancy5 years ago

Easter is fast approaching and I don't know what to shop for. Not that we're religious or anything but this was our Easter last year.

20180403_150039.jpg
Oysters, prawns, Balmain bugs, scallops 🤤

And this..

20180330_103503.jpg
Mussels in white wine garlic sauce. 🤤

And this..

20180330_103428.jpg
Boiled crabs. 🤤

And this..

20180330_202618.jpg
Brazilian Fish Stew (Moqueca Baiana) 🤤

And it was a damn good Easter.

We feasted for almost a week on our seafood haul (according to my phone gallery anyway) and I remember around that time my body felt like it was breaking. As in bones crumbling, stomach pains, couldn't move and I willed myself to prepare all that food. I'm glad I did because miraculously, a day or two in, I felt much better.

This year though.... Being preggo...

Here's the problem with the information age..

There's just so much information going around on everything especially when it comes to what pregnant women should and shouldn't be eating.

I've done a lot of reading, have been given advice by our local health food store to eat salmon, Hubby says "No Shellfish", some people say avoid seafood altogether ~ I even hit up my Facebook brains trust and they can't agree either.

😭😭😭😭

I think if we didn't have such an awesome seafood fiesta last year I wouldn't be craving seafood right now, but you guys... It was all tasty as.f.. Legit so damn good I'm dead set salivating over the thought of it.

20180401_170602.jpg

So what now?!

Well, considering it's been a very summery autumn so far and Anzac Day is on the same week as Easter I'm thinking lamb on the barbie might be in order this year. That and pasta, maybe some soup, definitely lots of fruit and Easter eggs.

Thank God for Easter eggs!!
If I'm not meant to be eating Easter eggs please don't tell me!! I just cannot deal with another 🚫

It's a far cry from last year's seafood splendour, but I reckon at this stage it's better to be safe than sorry, especially when I'm pretty sure I'm still paying for the toxic mothballs smell from days ago.

Ladies... Did you eat seafood while you were pregnant? How'd you go?

I've had salmon twice now and both times it was 'Eh'. My tastebuds just weren't into it so I'm taking that as a NO for salmon from here on in.

And while we're talking food, what were you craving the most when you were pregnant? I'd love to know!

Have a great Wednesday peeps!!

PicsArt_07-23-09.48.38.png

Sort:  

It is really sad when I was pregnant and couldn’t eat all that yummy sashimi oysters and raw stuff! They say if you cook it yourself then it should be fine.. and if you trust the sushi place then it should be fine haha...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey!!! Are you feeling better?!!!

Yep. I'm having seafood withdrawals. To be on the safe side I'm just avoiding all seafood 😭😭😭. Cant wait to pop this bub out and eat all the seafood I want lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Awww poor thing!! Surely if it’s cooked 100%! But up to you if you don’t want to risk anything.

It was Toby who was sick. I held him for 2 hours while he vomited every 15-20 mins 😣
Lucky only was food poisoning so we didn’t get it. Just had a lot to wash - including the car seat we had just washed earlier that day too!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I ate whatever I bloody well wanted. J put his foot down about bloody rare and raw stuff though, everything had to be cooked well which made me mad because if I’m having steak I like it bloody rare and I love sashimi 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lol when I was preggo at 20 I ate whatever I bloody wanted too. Now 18 years on, my trust in the quality of food ~ GMO, round up, Fukushima etc combined with my age ~ I'm not so daring anymore 😁

Plus this baby daddy is a lot more caring/onboard/concerned/meticulous, so he checks a lot of what I eat these days.

Posted using Partiko Android

don't ask me I'd always say yes to seafood!
mouth's waterin now

Lol it was damn good seafood 👌 I don't blame ya 😉

Congratulations @bearone! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 6000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi, @bearone!

You just got a 0.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @bearone!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.657 which ranks you at #1702 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 25 places in the last three days (old rank 1727).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 234 contributions, your post is ranked at #69.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63642.15
ETH 3126.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87