Indoor RV Growing Update

in #prepper6 years ago

Just a quick update...

The one large LED grow light Nyai put up in the bathroom...

Bathroom 1b.jpg

And the first two vertical felt gardens.

Bathroom 1a.jpg

The soil for these is an organic potting soil which is nitrate rich for herbs and greens...some pear-lite and a bit of veggie compost. It is a nice blend, a bit loamy so it will hold moisture well...and the pockets are about 1/2 gallon sized. They are deep enough to add raddish and even get some baby carrots going. But I will mix some veggie soil in the 3rd planter for that.

We are going to try planting the seeds right in the soil, because seed starting space doesn't exist here. I might use some of the aerogarden caps over the seeds, but we will see. I think this room will be warm enough to just plant them.

So that is our little update...and I am off to make dinner and get to work! Hope you all have an awesome evening, day, morning ;)



Homesteaders Online

Sort:  

What an awesome idea!!! I'm going to have to remember this. I could plant so many more things vertically like this. Thanks so much for sharing! Good luck!

Thanks! Fingers crossed :) Yeah they work really well for lettuce, spinach, herbs...pretty much all leafy greens that don't grow over 1 ft tall. I might try a bit of kale though and see how it does though, I love kale soup.

There are some people I know who are doing shelf gardens too...just one of those metal baker's shelves and then attaching LED grow strips under each one. They work great. If I had any floor space I would do that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.32
ETH 2914.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62