You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Story Behind The Picture - Landslide - Bosnia 1994

in #preppers6 years ago

Great advice and so true. When we first started prepping, it was so overwhelming trying to prep for everything. I literally went through a grieving period where I would just burst into sobs at any given point throughout the day. I was stockpiling everything I could just in case! Even if it was something I wouldn't use, I thought, perhaps I can barter with this! Anyway, as time went on we got a better sense of what we really need and decided to change how we live. A very simple example is rather than stock toiletries and cleaning supplies is that I stock baking soda, vinegar and castille soap. I can use those 3 things to replace countless products. They're cheap, easy to store and multi-purpose. I guess my point is, we kept reassessing what we were doing with our preps and what needed to change. We went from hoarding to being as sustainable as possible and we're still constantly changing. Constantly reassessing is key!

Sort:  

Sounds like a good progression and use of substances. What's more important is that you still had some form of contingency, no matter how elaborate or multi use it was.
Just natural Prepper progression i suppose....
Great Comment... Thanks.

@preppervetuk I've always been the person people go to when they need something. Even as a kid, I would tuck away extra bandages, hair ties, a granola bar, an extra pencil, a toothpick, a safety pin, etc... You just never know! 😆

But yes, the progression from terrified hoarder to confident self-sustaining survivor took loads of stress off me. It was also a shift in perspective. I think my prepping caused others to feel uncomfortable as they would accuse me of living in fear. I would respond by asking if they had any type of insurance (life, death, auto, medical) and given their definition, how was that any different? I then went on to tell them I was living in confidence rather than fear. 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57768.72
ETH 2943.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66