My EDC is NOT Better Than Yours

in #prepping6 years ago

Public Service Announcement: WARNING This is a whopper of a post. More than 2000 words and a lot of products and opinions, and admittedly not edge-of-your-seat riveting. I could have included many more pictures but decided against it because of the clutter madness. If there are products listed for which you would like more information, please leave a comment and I will get you a pic and some more information.

The Every Day Carry (EDC) kit...

Tacky EDC.jpgThanks to Thrift Pimp for this pic.

Like any other structured survival kit, it sparks fierce debates among preppers and survivalists. The largest debates seem to be over what purpose the EDC serves and what contents should be included. Some argue that EDC kits are for survival purposes. That we carry them to aid in a survival situation. Others argue that they are, simply, the tools and items you choose to help get you through your day. So, I might as well throw my opinion in the hat.

Debate #1: Survival vs Everyday Assitance

I have several situational survival kits: the infamous Bug Out Bag, a home survival kit, a survival kit for each vehicle, and a small one for the motorcycle. Because of this, I typically side with the latter camp from above. I consider things for everyday use in my EDC. To dive even deeper, I like to call part of my EDC the "EWC" or every-WHERE carry kit (you may scroll to past the next few paragraphs for the full list of my EWC and EDC). As far as the debate goes, I can't imagine only one side being right. Aren't we always using our tools to survive?

Debate #2: This and That vs That and This

How many EDC articles or blog posts can you find with an internet search of "EDC list"? Thousands. How many of those writers list the same items? Most of them. These items, whatever they may be, could be for survival OR used every day. That much is true. What the bloggers think, including myself, may not always be what's best. Consider this. In the US alone, how many people work in banks, government buildings, or schools? Millions? Tens of Millions? The vast majority of those cannot, legally, carry a knife or multi-tool with a sizeable blade. How many people wear dress slacks, skirts, or dresses to work? Hundreds of millions worldwide. The vast majority of those will not wear a multi-tool strapped to their belt nor a pocket knife clipped to their pockets. Besides the fact that most of the above people are statistically underprepared, there just is not a cookie-cutter EDC kit which fits us all. Except for this one...

Webp.net-resizeimage (7).jpg

Every growing boy needs apple juice, a guitar, and a can of sliced mushrooms. Right?

To explain my EWC concept a little better:

I include a firearm in my EDC. I live in a relatively firearm friendly state, but I still cannot carry one everywhere. There are some other items that are also not allowed in every location. Depending on where you go, this can include a multi-tool, pocket knife, baton, pepper spray, or other related items. I used to travel a lot and my EWC was reduced even further when even my water bottle was a no-go on flights. How about when you go into a potential workplace for an interview? How many of us now leave our phones in the car as to not distract us? I try not to get too deep in the weeds or wrapped around the axle over what "everywhere" really means because we all have different situations and even the wildest of us survival critters take baths, swim, and occasionally hang around in our birthday suits. Everywhere Except for When We Have Minimal or No Clothes At All Carry (EEFWWHMONCAAC) just doesn't have the same ring to it as EWC :)

My EDC

I am a technician who works on everything from servers and workstations to vehicles and satellites. What I carry is relevant to what I do. If you are a cosmetologist or banker, you may pick very different items. If you are a logger in the Klondike, a dainty front-pocket wallet may be the least of your concerns. Please don't carry irrelevant items. For your sake, not mine. Your preparedness is only as good as the gear you have on hand for your specific needs.

  • The Pack

I bounce between two different EDC packs. I have a fancy, tactical fanny pack (the handsome brown thing in the wacky pic above) and a shoulder sling bag. As much as I would love to embarrass my teenagers with the "look at how American I am" fanny pack in the thumbnail, it simply doesn't have enough space. That is why I opted for the brown tactical style. Still embarrassing for the teens, but I only wear it when I'm sans younger kids. The larger one is reserved for when my everyday needs include REAL essentials like gummy snacks, diapers, wipes, and a sippy cup :). One benefit of carrying the larger pack is the MOLLE on the front. Which allows for my IFAK to be strapped to the front and on my person instead of stashed in my desk or the glove box.

EWC

  • Lip Balm

I prefer Carmex lip balm in the tube. Comfortable enough on my lips and I can still easily dispense it to someone else without getting their cooties on my stuff. Occasionally, I carry the tub instead. Both have the screw on top, as opposed to the push-down kind, and that is great at preventing leaks when the balm surely melts in the Alabama heat.

  • Wallet

I prefer a front-pocket wallet. I feel like it requires a much larger pair of balls or ovaries to try to pick my wallet from a front pocket. Plus, if I am in a seated position for a lengthy time, back-pocket wallets tend to give me sciatic nerve issues. Nothing makes survival more cumbersome than a numb ass and toes. Included with the wallet would be some personally determined amount of cash, licenses, credit cards, and other ID cards.

  • Watch

I am a sucker for a nice flashy watch, but my everyday choice is the Casio ACR Solar G-shock. The batteries are recharged with solar power and its multiband Atomic accuracy is second to none. Especially for less than $100. To me, $100 is a common price for a watch and this one is worth the price but a cheap watch from a discount store tells time just the same.

  • Keys

Recently, construction workers hit a natural gas line outside of my poorly insulated office. It quickly seeped through the cracks in the doors and windows and people rushed to the doors. I cringe when I see co-workers come into the office and plop their keys on their desk, first thing in the morning because most of them were stranded outside for hours during the aforementioned leak. Only a small percentage of us keep our keys on our dorky belt clips and we were the ones able to go get food for the rest. Also on my keys is a small flashlight and knife. The flashlight is not very highly rated but is great in a pinch. The knife is not very big but is inconspicuous enough to make it through most searches and detectors.

  • Pen

Smartphones are great tools these days. They can record almost anything instantaneously but sometimes you just need to write things down. So, I try to carry a tactical pen every day. Tactical pens vary in scope and function. Mine is a kubotan, glass breaker, and an actual pen. It does, rightly, resemble a weapon and its size brings some undue attention. So, I was careful not to select one that included a hidden knife.

The Rest

  • Phone

How am I supposed to get through the day without checking sports news and Twitter? Seriously, I don't think I need to explain the rationale behind this to you BUT how many people died prior to cell phones because they were injured or trapped without a way to reach out to emergency services? The answer is immeasurable but you should be able to grasp the gravity of it.

  • Knife

You may notice the ensuing lack of fixed blade options. That is due to my fix blade being in my respective vehicle kit. I switch between four folding knives in my EDC. The most used is my Gerber Auto 06. I like its one-handed automatic operation and thick durable blade. A viable option for those in areas where autos are not legal is the Gerber Fast 06. Another is my second favorite, the Applegate-Fairburn Combat Folder. This knife is as impractical as it gets. It's for combat specifically, but its blade holds an edge, seemingly, forever and it makes me feel good (because I literally have no other excuse besides vanity to use this knife). The third is the Wal-mart special Kershaw. I bought one three years ago for $13 USD and it hasn't quit yet. The blade stays sharp for use after use. I loved it so much that I bought ten of them. I have one in each survival pack. Finally, I use the Gerber Air Ranger when I am wearing dress clothes. It is a deep-carry knife with a really thin profile. It is not remarkably durable-looking and I haven't used it enough to speak of its edge. It's simply confortable and inconspicuous in slacks and sometimes that is all that matters.

  • Multi-tool

Good heavens at the amount of debate over Leatherman vs Gerber. To keep from engulfing myself in battle, I just decided to buy both and match them with outfits like some do with shoes. When I wear a black belt, I carry the black Gerber Det 600 in its black case. When I wear brown, it is the Leatherman Wingman in its brown leather case. What can I say? I am a fashionable boy in a fashionable world. Seriously, both tools are really great. I cannot compare them because they are on different levels and at different price points. The Gerber is around $70 and the Leatherman is around $40. I can say that this particular Gerber has some useless features if you do not blow stuff up often, as it is for explosive ordinance disposal. I can also say the Leatherman's wire cutters wear down after a few years' use.

  • Flashlight

"Addicted", is a strong word but warranted in describing my relationship with flashlights. I have to have multiple in every room, in every car, and in every drawer in my tool chest. I currently carry the Bushnell Pro 50. It is a small package and rated at 50 lumens. It has a tactical look with its glass breaker ring around the lens and sports a comfortable, pressure-sensitive push button. My favorite feature, which is often overlooked, is its use of a simple AAA battery. They are common anywhere life may take me. I cannot say as much for the 123A, used by most tactical lights.

When using my large bag, I also carry a headlamp. My favorite is the Coast FL75. In all honesty, I have not used any other quality headlamp. This one has lasted years. Its features include a sturdy swivel for multiple positions and red lamps for reduced eye strain at night.

  • Notebook

Any old notebook will do just fine, but I am partial to Rite in the Rain's products. I prefer the smaller flip-style notebook. Dollar stores typically have their brand in 3-packs for $1. They fit in almost any pocket.

  • Uh-Oh Kit

It seems like the later "IFAK" section should cover this but it will not. I am from the camp which treats an IFAK as a trauma kit and me being its only patient in need. The Uh-Oh kit is more for boo-boos for myself and handouts for others. I keep three each of the common Band-aid type bandages, some triple antibiotic ointment, one regular tampon, one regular pad, four ibuprofen, two aspirin, two anti-diarrhea pills, and two Pepto tablets.

  • Lighter

I love the look and feel of Zippo brand lighters. They are quality products, but I cannot keep them from leaking. So, I am relegated to Bic-style lighters. I do not carry Ferro-rods or Mag strikers in my EDC. As I will discuss in later posts, I have multiple of those in my other kits. I do not smoke nor light fires daily, but if I did and I wasn't in a wilderness/survival situation, I would use a lighter over a striker. I have changed my mind multiple times on this and am sure to again. Currently, however, Bic makes the most sense.

  • Sunglasses

I used to care about Z87+ impact ratings. Recently, I only care that my eyes are well-protected from the sun. I have spent thousands of dollars on top-shelf shades only to have them stolen or broken. Today, I do not spend more than $20 on a pair and if I'm looking for impact safety, I buy clear or blue-blocking yellow.

  • Cordage

I, like all of the cool kids, like paracord bracelets. Until a couple of years ago, I thought that was my only fashionable way to keep cordage on my person without looking silly. A friend of mine made me a really cool lanyard that boasts 50 feet of cordage BUT I like my lanyard and I do not want to destroy it just to tie something up. so, for daily tasks I keep a bundle of 25 ft in my pack.

  • Whistle

I spend a lot of time alone in austere environments. I keep a whistle with me simply for signaling for help or alerting someone of danger. I use a standard metal whistle like a referee would use. I happen to know Morse Code, but if I did not, I would probably carry a cheat sheet. Hint Hint.

  • Fingernail Clippers

Since knocking tobacco, I bite my nails more. Which is terrible for my already aging teeth. I, however, can't bite nails which don't exist. My clippers may be my most heavily used item in my kit.

  • Sunscreen

I am bald through sheer luck on top and by choice on the edges. My head is roughly the size of a fire hydrant and attracts UV rays like flies to dung. If I go outside in the Alabama Summer, it is fried in a few minutes. If you care to know, I use SPF 50.

  • Water Bottle

Hydrate or die. I have specific canteens and hard bottles for my BOB and other kits. This one can is usually a run-of-the-mill 16.9 oz(0.5L) or another common size. I had a really cool Camel-bak BPA-free bottle that lasted three deployments and half a dozen IEDs but, sadly, it couldn't hold up to my three-year-old son.

  • IFAK*

The (*) is because my Individual First Aid Kit (IFAK) is not always on my person but one is ALWAYS nearby. It is not "carried" per se. I keep one in my car, one in my house, one in my desk, and one is for when I am not in those places. My next "kit" post will be a much deeper dive into my IFAK and philosophy behind its use.

This concludes my EDC kit. I hope you found some value. Not in my list itself, but in the rationale behind the items I chose. Like anything else I will preach, sur-thrival is key and you simply cannot thrive by only packing the items which we (the "experts") pack. You have to ask yourself what YOU need every day. For I truly mean that my EDC kit is NOT better than yours. At least not for you. Only you know what you need to sur-thrive and only what you need matters.

Sort:  

I am surprised at how few people carry a knife. To me it's something I've carried since high school and even to school ignoring the "rules". Now I have taught my kids how to use one and how to shoot hand guns, rifles, and bow. Cross bow is probably next. Simple little bits of knowledge for their long term safety that I hope they never need...but better to know it then not.

I'm out and about a lot and much of your list mirrors mine. One thing that I also add to my EDC for regular life that most seem to have forgotten about is cash. Not sure how anyone leaves the house without enough cash to get by for the day and to not have at least a couple weeks worth sitting at home just in case shit happens. There are plenty of ways our banking systems can be interrupted for a few days to weeks and some are ones that would only shut down your personal bank leaving someone without money for food and gas.

Anyways enjoyed the post. Thanks to @buckaroo for featuring you in the Pay It Forward Curation Contest

Thanks for reading and I'm glad you enjoyed the post. I love crypto, but cash is truly king for right now. In an earlier post, I talked about the grid going down from tornadoes in our area. Those without cash, literally, couldn't buy anything from the stores when they opened. For obvious reasons, I'm hesitant to tell anyone how much cash I carry or how much cash they should carry but one meal for each family member and a tank of gas at least. It's really hard to find a minimum amount to carry when we all have different circumstances. Would you agree? I always have a hard time explaining how much is the right amount for any given person/family.

Completely agree it's hard to say what is right for another person. But honestly I think if you don't have access to at least a weeks worth of food, gas, and other misc expenses you are very unprepared. A couple week's worth of cash is a pretty good amount of money to have laying around so I feel it's important to also have a safe place to keep it. But if you own guns odds are you already have a place safe enough for your cash.

A tornado is one of the ways that can really mess up the banking system in a local market. Without electric banks are dead in the water. No ATM's means those who are unprepared have no means to purchase anything. Also in a case like this you need to be ready to price gauging so your typical price for gas will jump drastically, along with water and other essentials. Even more reason to have plenty of cash on hand.

People were driving 60 to 70 miles away to find gas and ATMs when the tornadoes hit here. It's great that a bunch of people could get out that far, but how many people always have less than half a tank of gas? It really is crazy what a stash of cash will do for you.

Great article. Makes me consider what items I'd need for my EDC on me pirate ship! Interested in hearing about your IFAK next.

Thanks @reverendrum. I hope to get that article out in the next few days.

Fantastic list! So helpful for when the crunch comes to have a list. Whether it's a vacation (camping) or a fleeing crunch.... Was that a diaper on the guitar?!

Thanks @buckaroo. That was a diaper on the guitar. Always have one of each :).

Perhaps look at cloth diapers? They are far more practical for prepping that's for sure! And (speaking from experience) much easier than to wash and wear than most people think. Cheaper than disposables, prettier (if a man care's about pretty diapers!), kind to the eco-system and contain no carcinogenic toxins, which tragically, disposables do

By the way I have featured you in this week's #payitforward
https://steemit.com/payitforward/@buckaroo/3sxuz1-pay-it-forward

Thank you so much for the feature. I actually do use cloth diapers for almost every situation. They are the most practical choice for all things wilderness, eco-system, and sustainability.

whoaa.. that's a lot of and complete things to bring everyday and everywhere... but as you said above, there's a rationale behind the item you chose. I remember that when I used to live near the coastal area after the tsunami hit my hometown in December 26th, 2004, for about 5 years.. I prepared a big carrier with many basic kits for survival in case the earthquakes hit again and I need to flee to the escape hill and thinking that I can help the kids and other refugees with anything I have. but later I learned that the most important thing to bring and use in any situation is my conciousness.

thank you for sharing this, it would be funny if I show you my EDC.. hahaha, but nope.. you don't need to compare because we have different activities and needs. thanks to @buckaroo who has featured you in her post for the pay it forward contest this week. though I read your warning about 2000 words but this is too good to let unread.

hope to read more about the use of your EDC @sir-thrive and the blinking waist-band-bag is really awesome.

Although our needs are different, I still love seeing other lists. It's so interesting to see what others need as opposed to me. Thank you for the kind words.

As you know @buckaroo featured you in this weeks #PayItForward Contest @pifc.

Very informative article. I think it's a great idea to have something like this. You're right you never know what kind of situation you'll be in. This way you're partially prepared. Yes each kit should be tailored to your needs. Everything you mentioned here though I think should be standard. Keep up the great work!!

Also, consider looking into the #PayItFoward contests, it's a great way to meet new people, help friends and unknowns to get exposure as well as yourself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62668.08
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58