Foraging for wild editable plants, or a FUN walk in the woods!

in #prepping6 years ago

Hold on, and take notes, this guy hits it fast, and shows a lot of good plants. Lots of information here, and you will need to watch it more than once. He give a lot of uses, and plant types in this short video; so pay attention or you will miss some of them!

Sort:  

very interesting @smithlabs but this guy talks too fast, I need a book with pictures of all the plants because I wouldn't be able to remember those anyway if the stuff hit the fan and we had to go out foraging.
hey I was told that anything with three leaves is poisonous but I guess not.

Nope, lots of stuff with 3 leaves is fine. I have eaten poison ivy, so it depends on how hard headed you are...and how you process it.
:)

Wild lettuce and poke are not safe to eat either.

you can eat poison ivy?
that gives me the shivers!

The irritant is the oil, boil it out, change the water several times, and the plant can be eaten. Survival course, LOL!

I'll pass lol! if I get close to that stuff i break out!

I never get it unless I have a cut, and then just around the cut for a little while. My Brother caught it last year using my gardening gloves. I had pulled it out where I found it because ripping up the roots is the only was to really kill it.
I have a Sister that catches it so bad she ends up in the Hospital, so I watch for it, by habit.

holy moly man!
I stay away from it totally except sometimes I get close enough
to pour gasoline on it.

Gasoline is a bad idea. It puts the oil in the smoke, and can be BAD! There is a spray, I think called brush kill that is supposed to work well. Round up does not kill it, as I have been told. Once it is dead, no oil, no threat.

But he does talk 90 miles an hour, with gusts to 100! :)

lol he talks as fast as you think!
hey I saw your profile page today and saw that you haven't
voted but one time, are you saving your vote power/sp ?
do you have a strategy?

My vote is still worthless. I can't even find where I am on voting power. So I just stopped. I vote once in a while to check, but so far, nothing has come back.

I know it's very frustrating. go to steemnow.com/@smithlabs
and it keeps track of everyone who voted for you and gives you up to the minute stats on your voting power, it's something you'll have up all the time it's a great tool.

did you get hooked up to steemnow.com or are you afraid it's too
technical for you?? lol!!

Doesn't want to run on Unix. :(

Got it to run on my android. It says I am at98% power; but my vote is still worthless. Some setting is off somewhere.

:(

my vote is usually worthless no matter what percentage of power I have, occasionally it's worth 1 cent.
I just think you have to build up to at least 100sp to be able to have your vote be worth even a cent.
well on steemnow it says mine is worth .001 with 49.8 sp but most votes still don't give that .001
the only reason I have 49sp is because I got tired of never having any so I bought some steem and converted it to sp last night. something to build on.

Fun, I have considered that myself. Oh well, I have spent most of my life worthless, so this is not that much different, ROFLOL!

Just keep posting...just keep posting... :)

I had no idea you were actually Trillium on YT- I love watching the foraging and edibles videos!

Me too, I love learning new things! I like your Mullen smoking substitute; I will recommend it to a friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94