Phill merchandize: 3D printing, removing supports and paintingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #print3d5 years ago

I was never good at documenting my work but every once in a while I remember to set up the camera before I start. This time I was working on my current project with @katharsisdrill on making merchandize for the phill from gchq webcomics..

I thought it could be interesting for people to see what it actually looks like. I think sometimes people thinks the 3d printer is some sort of magical contraption that spits out perfect toys with no work whatsoever, and while I do agree that it feels almost magical, it is far from problem free or workfree.

This video shows part of the process of removing supports, fixing small errors in the print, and painting.
furthermore, as this is a limited edition run we (@katharsisdrill and me) have decided that each individual figure is numbered and signed by me (using the same M rune that I use for my blades) I hand engrave this into the bottom of the figure.
The actual time for each figure is not 10 minutes of course, as the videos length could lead you to think. It is more like, 30-60 minutes, plus the time in the printer and the time designing in 3d, so all in all it takes quite a while to finish a figure.

I could of course just sell them unpainted, and I might do that with other figures later on.

until then.

Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem
or you can check out my accounts on these sites:

Cults3d
Thingiverse
Shapeways

Sort:  

Howdy there evilhippie! This process is so interesting and totally new to me, those pieces do indeed take a great deal of labor and skill after the printing! You mentioned blades, you also make knives?
fantastic username bytheway, totally unique branding!

Thanks, Yes I do make blades, both knives and swords. Stuff tend to get forgotten on the blockchain when they are older than a month or so but I do make posts about my knife and swordmaking sometimes, even though it has been a while since last time. The username which is also the name of my small design and art company isnt even my own invention It was actually @katharsisdrill that came up with it years ago. He is my brother and long time collaborator on all things creative. If you want to see a knife making post of mine you can check this one out. Again a collaboration. @katharsisdrill designed this one and I forged a few of them.

Howdy again sir evilhippie! wow, knife and swordmaking! I mean, I see where some people make knives but swords is something else, that's amazing, I'm going to check out that post, thank you!

Well, I am one of the people who think that it's some kind of magic to make toys like this one. I didn't know that there is a lot of work to make the toy perfect. Thank you for sharing. I hope we will see more videos like this one.

Who knows. I might just inadvertently turn on the camera some other time :-)

It would, admittedly, not be very artisanal, but would it be feasible to derive a set of "negatives" from a model, with different openings for different colours? You would then have a set of reusable 3D masks for painting, perhaps even making spray painting possible. Just wondering.

Making the negatives is a comparatively easy task on a computer, and for mass production it could possibly be a solution . Doll makers sometimes use masking paper or modelling putty, to get a nice clean line. I have also seen custom made reusable masks, but they werent 3d printed.
Another solution (which I think is closer to what is done in industrial mass production of toys) could be to print in more than one part and then use different coloured plastics , or paint before assembly.

Very cool model ! Nicely produced and painted <3 Love the video, also, @evilhippie :D

Thanks. Video is a very nice way to show a process like this. it is just not that often i remember (or can be bothered to) set up a camera

Congratulations @evilhippie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi evilhippie,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hi @evilhippie, I have never thought that we will be printing 3d models at home just like printing simple texts on paper. I believe if we take a time machine and travel min 10 years back and tell what we are able to do now using 3d printer, nobody will believe. Recently I saw documentary showing the advantage of that in printing prosthetic and usage in medicine.
The video that you did is really helpful to see how it is and how impressive to get a printed figure out of your own printer, you can paint it and make you own style. That was really a great idea to share it :)

an interesting thing is that the techniques that are used in the 3dprinters of today are (for the most part) invented in the 70ties, but due to patents they where very expensive and only for the select few.
When the patents ran out , thats when this all started, but you are right. who would have dreamt this a few years back

I Didn't knew that there were so much touch up need to complete before start the coloring. But it looks easy from the video, not sure when i started it would it be as easy as it look or it was a mess for me. Thank you for sharing the video.

Posted using Partiko Android

I dont know either , but i do know that I have been doing modelling and painting for the better part of 40 years, and it didnt look very good in the beginning

40 years that long..This explained that you look so profesdional in the video

Posted using Partiko Android

it looks real fun the possibility to create everything your imagination can think, thanks for sharing

yes almost everything , I guess it depends on your imagination :-) but it truly is a remarkable tool

I thought you were going to show the final result :( However, the figure looks great. you are right in something when you say:

people thinks the 3d printer is some sort of magical contraption that spits out perfect toys with no work whatsoever, and while I do agree that it feels almost magical, it is far from problem free or workfree.

all this time believing that 3D printing does not need anything more than putting the machine to work. Now I see how wrong I was. great work .

well you can watch this post: allthough that was in fact an earlier version and it is cleaned up more now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01