You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Facebook Wants U.S. Bank Data on It's Users, Trying to Make Deal for Banking via FB

in #privacy6 years ago

That's a pretty sticky wicket there. Facebook already runs its own pseudo-banking app; I can send cash to my daughter via Facebook... and it's very much like a PayPal clone; as long as my bank account is on file with FB, what she receives is like Western Union hard cash... even though the money has to come out of my checking account via EFT.

So it's not much of a reach for Facebook to go from (in essence) "making out" with the banks, to being fully "in bed" with them. I'm pretty sure the behind the scenes pitch FB is making is that the infrastructure is already in place, so this is really more of a marketing opportunity than a money movement opportunity.

Either way, it makes me nervous.

P.S.: The bank account we've tied to FB is "free standing" and used ONLY for FB stuff; that was a deliberate move... it's even at a different financial institution from our "primary" accounts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62539.74
ETH 3201.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81