Snowden's terrifying revelation about NSA surveillance and Smart Appliances

in #privacy5 years ago

It's chilling to discover how much of your internet activity is monitored. I summarize Snowden's revelation about NSA surveillance and explain how programs like STELLARWIND and TURBULENCE work. I also talk about the dangers of Smart Appliances, and why we should be more careful about our purchasing decisions.
This is part of my ongoing series to help you live the modern, privacy-conscious lifestyle.

Premiering now!

Sort:  

Not only is everything monitored, they listen in when you least expect it both at home or out in a business with devices connected to the internet, or people's phones.

A VPN isn't 100% good for securing your privacy either, especially against governments but can help limit some things they can collect. It doesn't really matter what you do, if someone wants to listen in or access your stuff, they will find a way.

But limiting the amount of SMART devices is definitely a big help, as is disconnecting your PC microphone and webcam.

I don't have a single "smart" appliance (unless using a PS3 for Netflix counts). I'm a software engineer who has always had an interest in tech but internet connected appliances just don't appeal to me for the most part. I would rather put that money towards a better laptop or desktop if I'm going to by tech.

Yeah I'm about to do a video on the limitations of VPNs actually!

My toaster tried to take me out.

And nobody believed me...

These damn smart appliances are damn smart

You're damn right they are.

I think the worst thing is when you go to someone's house and you see google homes or Alexa everywhere and everything " Smart" its like surveillance house

Love you work, even if it freaks me out lol
Do I recognize you from Juice media?
Love that stuff as well : )

Haha I don't want to freak you out! Just want to let people be aware of what's going on, so that people can make more informed choices :)

And you do it beautifully.

Have you been on juice media?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60648.94
ETH 2906.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60