3 Excel Hacks to help you get super productive and manage your professional network!

in #productivity6 years ago (edited)

Just add the following 3 sheets in your Excel file. I’ll tell you why!

Sheet 1: ‘Person I Met’

We all know that NETWORK is the real NET WORTH and during our daily routine, we tend to meet many different people in the events, over social media or even during traveling who can be helpful to us or we can be to them in some or the other way.

But do we have that record of Whom we met and Where?

If the answer is ‘No’ then jump off to a new tab and add this sheet in your google drive and cultivate the habit of updating it everytime you come across someone who directly or indirectly did affect your thoughts along with the date and the place or the reason behind your meet. So, at anytime in future, if you want to connect with that ‘someone’ be it in the Tech sector, Finance sector or with people working in an NGO, You’ll just need to take a look at this ‘Persons I Met’ sheet and ping them by mentioning the event where you met or by some reference, which will save your time and can possibly open the doors of opportunity for both. At my company today, many of my team members consist of individuals whom I met through some seminars and business Bootcamps that I attended during my college days and we have been working together since then.

Sheet 2: ‘Mistakes and Learnings’

I read somewhere: “When you make a mistake, there are only three things you should ever do about it: admit it, learn from it, and don't repeat it. If you repeat it the second time then it's not a mistake, it's a choice.”

Well, that’s true. Making mistakes is not in our hands but not repeating it, definitely is! Many times in our professional career and even social life, we make tons of mistakes. So, instead of letting those mistakes affect us negatively, why not learn from it?! But you will learn only when you remember those mistakes and ponder upon them to correct it. So, click on the Add Sheet option now and rename it to ‘Mistakes and Learnings’.

During my 3 years journey of CodeCrunch, I have made plenty of mistakes in hiring, during the seminars I gave, mistakes in my first youtube video, blunders in deciding the final quote for the clients and many more which I have constantly added in this sheet. This sheet is now full of real-life wisdom nuggets through which I analyze and improve myself to become a better version of my yesterday.

Sheet 3: ‘Work plan’

“Either you run the day or the day runs you” - Very well said by Jim Rohn!

Everybody knows the importance of planning but only a few actually do. When we fail to plan, we lose the track of our life happenings. The very same was happening with me in my company as well as in my personal life. So one fine day, I grabbed a chair and with a fresh mind, started writing down all the tasks in an Excel Sheet and named it - ‘Work Plan’ and once I was done with a particular task, I marked it in Bold. Trust me, these bold markings gave me, a sense of satisfaction along with a great thrust to my productivity levels.

Sometimes the solution is too simple but we keep looking out of the scope to find them just like to maintain our daily work plan, we don't need to buy any paid subscriptions of some planning app rather we can just start by adding this simple sheet which will help us track the time we consume for a certain task and if we are procrastinating some task from 3 days which could have been easily completed within 2 hours, this sheet will help you pick the right track.

So, these were my 3 very simple habits to get you going. If you feel it will add value to your life, I have something for you right here: I have made one sample template named ‘Learn and Grow’ that includes all these 3 sheets which you can directly add to your google drive and start implementing it from today itself ( https://goo.gl/TnmueD ).
No procrastination please :) Do it now!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @karanpujara! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63088.03
ETH 2952.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55