Airplane mode

in #productivity6 years ago (edited)

I used to hate airplane mode. The first draft of these post I did write on my phone on a plane from Brussels to Malaga. It has been dismissed. Because of the Airplane mode. But the post was about the advantages of using Airplane mode.

What do I mean by that? In our connected world, we love to be able to call, send, read anything at any time. I get angry and anxious if I can’t look up something online.

Airplane-Mode-Icon.png

Sitting on a plane, a metal tube without being connected is frustrating at first. 2.5-hour flight is one of the shorter ones, but it is still 2.5 hours without being able to use online services. And I do use online services. E-mail, messenger, Instagram, even my music is on Spotify.

After an hour of listening to my offline available music and slept half an hour still got an hour left in Airplane mode.
I had to do something. I started answering my e-mails, reorganizing them. Archive the ones I might need sometime later, delete the boring ones. And after a while, I got an empty inbox. Wow. I can imagine how the small dwarfs at the Gmail HQ got a shock the time my phone was connecting to the airport wifi and got a huge amount of work to do. Send out e-mails archive and delete the ones in my inbox.

Airplane mode is not a prison. Quite the opposite. It is an opportunity to work distraction-free.

That's it. Since I landed and did work on my presentation, I went airplane mode. Yes, I did. And I was much faster because I closed out all the messages that could distract me from focusing on my work.

Do you go airplane mode?

The post originally appeared on my medium.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67241.02
ETH 3727.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77