I LEARN PROGRAMMING - Python series #1

in #programming6 years ago (edited)

program-01.jpg

imgsource

Hello friends, I will be starting a programming series, in which, I teach myself how to code. I have always wanted to learn a programming language but I've always procrastinated due to one reason or the other, I figured that a solution for me is to start blogging about my progress, that way I become more accountable in my learning process, I believe if I have a formal documentation process about my progress, I will be less complacent, I'll try to blog daily about the new things I learn and also share my knowledge and encouragement to potential programmers out there.

RESOURCES

EDX.ORG - INTRODUCTION TO COMPUTER SCIENCE USING PYTHON - This is a course from the MIT website, it is free but it also comes with a 49 USD certificate after course completion, I chose this because it teaches about computation and algorithmic thinking, It doesn't just talk about a bunch of syntaxes but it teaches how to use them to solve real-world problems.

LEARN PYTHON THE HARD WAY - Don't get thrown off by the intimidating name, it is an easy to follow and well detailed online PDF book, it is very thorough has it emphasizes on syntaxes and understanding the code you are writing, the exercises often insists on reading your code out loud and backwards line by line, don't copy and paste assignments, write a comment interpretation about each line of code, e.t.c, I love the habits that they are trying to instill on beginners like me.

OFFICIAL GUIDE FROM PYTHON WEBSITE - This is the main guide from the python website and it contains all the needed information to learn and adjust to python 3 programming.

TUTORIAL POINT - It takes into consideration the beginner's phase and breaks down the complex issues.

WHAT I LEARNED


VARIABLES, TYPES AND ASSIGNING VALUES TO THEM

Variables are reserved memory locations to store values, a variable can have different data types, like, integer, float, string, etc.

code for assigning values to variables

cars = 100
space_in_car = 4.0
drivers = 30
passengers = 90
cars_notdriven = cars - drivers
cars_driven = drivers
carpool_capacity = cars_driven * space_in_car
average_passengers_per_car = passengers/cars_driven
print ("there are", cars, "cars available.")
print ("There are only", drivers, "drivers available.")
print ("There will be", cars_notdriven, "empty cars today.")
print ("We can transport", carpool_capacity, "people today.")
print ("We have", passengers, "to carpool today.")
print ("We need to put about", average_passengers_per_car, "in each car")

execution

2.jpg


STRINGS
code for storing string values

name = 'STEEMIT'
number = 'One million'
print ('lets talk about', name )
print ('It has One', number, 'users')

execution
4.jpg

code for editing string values

name = 'ABmakko'
print (name [0])
print (name [2])
print (name [3])
print (name [2: ])
new_name = 'J' + (name [2: ])
print (new_name)

execution
6.jpg


BRANCHING PROGRAM
note.jpg
A branching program is when a computer is instructed to do or not do do something based on some conditions of true or false.
This conditional program is used to find an even or a odd number.
9.jpg
banner.png


road-1668916_960_720.jpg
DQmP3mL7sAPk3qBvCARHZCK8RzReNdkgz6hYBxmrxDC3u32_1680x8400.jpg
imgsource

Thanks for passing by, happy learning :-)


Sort:  

my guy, kudos for taking this on

Thanks for the encouragement :-)

Nice!!Another new skill is added... Keep it up dear

Thanks dear, one step at a time :-)

Great idea to blog about your progress. I look forward to seeing more.
I blog about programming to help people learn. I try to write in a way that will be easy for beginners to understand.

Thanks, I will visit your blog for more tips. thanks for passing by

Another skill set to be added in your resume. You are remarkable @abmakko!

Thanks for the kind words, @zestforlife, :-) I hope to be more serious with my learning in the programming world

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15