Desmos is a great tool

in #programming6 years ago

I've been using Desmos a lot lately while working on my game Voster Coaster to develop the formulas I use in code, it is really nice to see a visualization of all I am doing.

Here you can see some of my progress: https://www.desmos.com/calculator/7mit0hhjak

What is very annoying is that everything I'm doing works in theory, but not when actually implemented...

Sort:  

Never heard of desmos. I’m using GeoGebra

Interesting, it looks pretty similar. GeoGebra looks a lot more powerful though as it can do 3D graphs, thanks for mentioning it. I do like how desmos allows for easy link sharing and the ability to put folders and notes inside the equations.

They put other the years a lot of effort in this project. Originally it was only a tool for euclidic dynamic contruction. Now it has CAS functions and 3d. You also can make small programms with it and presantations.

I can't get the web version working for some reason (whenever I click something, nothing happens), but I'll try the desktop version.

I really love how many free visualization tools now, it is amazing and really helps with understanding and planning math concepts.

I also recently discovered some algebra solving websites which are really nice to quickly prototype functions without taking 5 minutes rearranging equations every time.

Mostly I use the iPad app. It contains most of the functions of GeoGebra. The DesktopApp should do the same work. But I'm not often using it. For easy algebraic thinks the CAS of GeoGebra is good and intuitiv. WolframAlpha is a realy good tool, too.
An other opensource CAS is maxima (now called sagemath).
And for programming math stuff I'm using Octave.
There is a homepage combining octave, sage, latex and other stuff.
http://www.sagemath.org/

Thanks for the list of programs, definitely going to check them all out. Open source too which is great!

I made a GeoGebra Tutorial for making math Posts on steemit ( here). Well, it is in german but maybe the pics are telling enough.

This post received upvote from @tipU :) | Voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62996.10
ETH 3122.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88