BS in Computer Science or Coding bootcamp? Which one is worth the money?

in #programming7 years ago (edited)

MW-DQ125_comput_20150715111740_ZH.jpg

My senior year in high school I was stressed out because it was time for us seniors to apply for college(Well, that's what they told us all and I kind of just followed along with it). Everybody was running around filing college applications left and right and those who got accepted got their acceptance letter posted on a wall at the school. My GPA wasn't the best because I didn't really try hard or cared much for school, but it was above a 3.0 so I ended up getting accepted into some random engineering college.

I didn't even know what I wanted to study at the time I just knew I liked playing with computers, so in the end I just chose to go to a community college and knock out my pre-reqs to save some money. First year in college was mostly spent learning fluffy BS you will never use in your life: College Writing, Sociology, etc...Now that I look back at it I realize how much MONEY I wasted on these useless classes and makes me want to sue my university. It's almost like a ponzi scam to force students to take useless classes.

Well, after getting my pre-reqs out of the way I transferred to a 4 year college and started taking the "real" CS classes, many of which were again, useless. You need to take your math foundation courses: Calculus 1/2/3, probability and statistics and discrete mathematics. Calculus is mostly useless for computer science and simply a a test of your mental abilities, the rest on the other hand are quite useful for designing/analyzing algorithms. After you get your math requirements out of the way you can start taking actual upper-level programming classes like design of programming languages, theory of computation, etc...

This is what a typical CS degree looks like:

150956938418908.jpeg

Notice how many of those classes are not even related to programming or software in any way, yet you still have to take them and most importantly PAY for them because the university says so. Because I was a dumb college kid like many others, I just kept accepting the loans the university would give me for next semester because, what other choice did I have if I wanted to complete my degree? I ended up racking up to 50k plus in student loans which I did not think much about at the time..

This is why I think coding boot-camps are much more suitable for most people. The majority of people want to learn practical skills they can directly apply to their job, not unrelated science and math courses which they will never use. This is exactly what a boot camp does for you. Now don't get me wrong, in reality I think the majority of boot-camps out there suck because they mostly focus on teaching web technologies and not algorithms or other topics in computer science. For me ideally a boot-camp would be just like a CS curriculum with the fluffy BS and unnecessary science/math classes cut out.

Sort:  

yeah bs college classes are a waste of time

iNTRO pIC-01.jpg

This post was resteemed & upvoted by @superbot - the Best Resteem bot on Planet !
Good Luck!

Follow for 10 minutes ,
Send 0.100 Steem/Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo that you want resteemed and upvoted.

So don't waste any time ! Get More Followers and gain more Visibility With Superbot .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84