You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learning to write code the easier way.

in #programming7 years ago (edited)

Man, I always wanted to get going into Java programming and start making my own android games, but for the love of God, without an actual teacher, an actual course it's hard as hell and those are sooo expensive. Yeah you've got codeacademy, udemy and so on, but it still feels like an impossible task.
I remember the first time I tried some java + andengine + eclipse or something like that and it was overwhelming with no background.
Lately, I've been dabbling around with Construct 2, seems way easier for me to achieve what I want - an android game - even if the game will suck, which probably will. I got my girlfriend on board, we bought it and we still learning the hangs of it. Sucks that it uses HTML5 and that's pretty bad for performance from what I've heard. Still, it's a fun activity for me and my girlfriend.
Anyway, enough with my rambling. Great post and you get my upvote.

Sort:  

Hey, yeah I completely understand where your coming from. I felt like that in the beginning as well but I guess you just kind of have to understand the "logic" these languages have in common and then just start learning the code or copy from other great developers! It's an open source world out there :D

We actually had a course in school where we used Construct 2 to make a game and I feel like I got the hang of it pretty fast. It wasn't anything serious. Just the first idea that came to mind for a game theme and then I made it. It's a really simple and easy to use software with a great community to help you out! If you want or if it helps at all I can send you the files from my Construct 2 game and you can see what I've been going for. I think I might have it saved somewhere just in case. :)

Thanks for taking your time to read and comment on my post! Best of luck to you and your girlfriend with your future in development :)

I'd love to take a look at your construct 2 game and check some of the logic behind what you've made. Dunno if something serious can ever come from working on Construct 2, but it's a fun project for both of us and maybe learning about the logic behind it and how stuff works helps me getting into a real programming language, only time will tell. So yeah, leave me a link to download your project and thanks a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67