3 Great Java Programming Books For Beginners

in #programming7 years ago (edited)

Introduction

Welcome to another of my posts about Java programming, having just completed writing a short course here on Steemit which can be found here https://steemit.com/programming/@robertlyon/java-programming-for-beginners-course. I thought it might be beneficial to mention a few books that I would recommend to beginners. These books are books that I have used or newer editions of the books that I read. The point of these recommendations is to give the readers of my blog a direction or pathway to improving their programming skills and gaining more real-world skills that will aid them in their journey.

Recommendations

  1. Think Java by Allen Downey and Chris Mayfield
    Amazon Link: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Think-Java-Allen-Downey/dp/1491929561/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1512822579&sr=1-1&keywords=Think+java

    This book starts off very basic covering the fundamentals like I have done in my course with a little more detail. The book then moves on to cover the basics of Object Orientated Programming. Very good book for the absolute beginner and has great explanations of concepts.

  2. Learning Java by Patrick Niemeyer and Daniel Leuck
    Amazon Link: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Learning-Java-Patrick-Niemeyer/dp/1449319246/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1512822119&sr=8-1&keywords=learning+java

    This book is a really good follow-on to the Think Java book. This book picks up Object Orientated Principles from the word go, this book is aimed more towards people who have some knowledge of basic programming. The style of teaching in this book is different from most programming books, where most books start off with console applications this one starts off by building simple GUI applications through the Swing library(Although outdated the concepts are still the same). This book covers a massive amount of information and different programming areas so will give the beginner programmer a good taste of what is out there when it comes to programming jobs.

  3. Java: A Beginner's Guide, Seventh Edition by Herbert Schildt
    Amazon Link: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Java-Beginners-Seventh-Herbert-Schildt/dp/1259589315/ref=dp_ob_title_bk

    This book is published by Oracle who are the company that owns Java. This book covers each topic in great depth and provides some concrete explanations and examples that are tailored towards new programmers. If you were to get only one of the books on this list then I would recommend this one as it is the most concise.

Conclusion

I found all three of these books to be a great help to me when I was first studying Java in University and I hope that they can help you to improve your own programming and help you to become a Java developer.

As always if there are any improvements you think I can make to this post then please leave a comment and I will consider adding it.

Thank you for reading and I hope that someone will get some use out of these tutorials.

Message to readers
Thanks for taking the time to read my post, if you are interested in Science, Technology or Computer Science then check out my blog, content is a little sparse at the moment but I am making an effort to provide good quality original content to the Steemit community.

Sort:  

great I'll find those books thanks!

You are welcome :)

This post has received a 3.27 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @robertlyon. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

You got a 4.24% upvote from @robertlyon requested by: @robertlyon.
Send at least 1 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

This post received a 8% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @robertlyon! For more information, click here! , TeamMorocco! .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69346.64
ETH 3676.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.21