Soccer Predictions using Python (part 3a)

in #programming7 years ago

Just posting the latest output from my Soccer Prediction program. Too late at night (early in the morning?) to write up an explanation of the changes I've made to the code but I'll get a new article posted later today, after I get a couple of hours sleep.

Nighty night.

MatchPredictionProbabilityOdds
Everton v BournemouthEverton79.641.26
Man City v Crystal PalaceMan City71.041.41
West Ham v SpursSpurs85.951.16
Rangers v CelticCeltic75.021.33
Bolton v BrentfordBrentford76.811.30
Derby v BirminghamDerby67.431.48
Leeds v IpswichLeeds67.081.49
Norwich v BristolNorwich78.531.27
Reading v HullReading81.791.22
Sunderland v CardiffCardiff69.191.45
Sort:  

You need a really high win ratio with odds like that. I'm too dumb to understand what you are using to calculate probability, poisson distribution you said? I look it up and it seems rocket science to me.
You need to realise something, the odds are infact probability calculated by bookies. You are just betting your software is better than theirs. Low odds are always going to have a good win rate. If your software can sort out the worste bets in the low odd games, you are a god.
But theres something definitly wrong with your programme..Its called soccer :/

FIFA 1904
NFL 1920

: ) good luck with the bets and developing this programme, I count on you, soon we will be racing our Lamborghinnis

The odds I listed are the odds my program is predicting, calculated from the probability. Ideally, we should be able to find matches where my odds are shorter than the bookies thus indicating a "value bet".

7 correct results out of 10 seems like a reasonably good start.

Here are the results with returns for a £1 bet on each game. 28.6% profit. If we ignored the Man City game due to the bookies odds being less than our prediction, it would have been 6/9 games correct and a 30% profit.

MatchPredictionBookies OddsReturn
Everton v BournemouthHome1.8£1.80
Man City v Crystal PalaceHome1.15£1.15
West Ham v SpursAway1.65£1.65
Rangers v CelticAway1.59£1.59
Bolton v BrentfordAway2.16£2.16
Derby v BirminghamHome1.82£0
Leeds v IpswichHome1.69£1.69
Norwich v BristolHome2.25£0
Reading v HullHome2.64£0
Sunderland v CardiffAway2.82£2.82
---£12.86

I'll the updated code and an explanation posted soon.

(I'm leaning more toward a Tesla myself)

I see, the programme calculates odds to compare them with the ones in the bookies and find value. Thats genius ahah. For sure if you maintain this rate, you'll be rich no doubt.

If you're running a Linux distro, there's no reason not to try the code yourself. I expect it'd be a bit more complicated in Windows, not sure about Apple stuff.

We can all get rich!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55