Welcome Wagon for New Steemians

in #promo-mentors6 years ago


Welcome Wagon.jpg

Hello Steemians!

Twenty-two days ago, I made the choice to join the Steemit community. As a wee little plankton in the big pond, I felt overwhelmed with the sign in process. I noticed there was no welcome video or basic tutorial to assist me in getting started. Fortunately, my partner, @leap8 had already gone through the process. He is tech savvy and even he found it challenging to figure out how to get started. Since I had his guidance to assist me, instead of becoming discouraged and leaving, I calmly followed his instructions and made it through the lengthy process of becoming part of the Steemit community.

Steemit is completely different from social media platforms such as Facebook. When signing in to Facebook the instructions are easy to follow, helping the new user to complete their account, connect with friends and find features that Facebook offers.

I love the Steemit platform, and I see the potential for it being the innovative way of using social media.

The Steemit community supports engagement and growth. New users will not find this level of engagement anywhere else and that is what makes Steemit unique.

However, I feel the next logical step for Steemit would be to create a sort of “welcome wagon”, as this may prevent new steemians from getting discouraged and leaving.

I propose the creation of a welcome video, that will play for the new user when they log in for the first time. New steemians would then be encouraged to click on the link below the welcome video. Below the video would be a scheduled listing of days and times, to attend a free live orientation webinar. New steemians would register and attend on the scheduled day and time of their choosing.

Experienced users would provide a basic tutorial for new steemians and then hold a Q&A session at the end to answer any questions during the live webinar.

Below is a list of topics the webinar could cover

  1. A basic tutorial.
  2. What are the four keys and what they do?
  3. What are the top groups on discord and what do they offer?
  4. Tips for writing an introductory post.
  5. How to write a proper post, cite sources and plagiarism rules.
  6. What are the different apps available? (dtube, dsound, dlive, steepshot, and the new app dpixify).
  7. How to transfer steem and steem dollars received from posts?




Sort:  

I was lucky to have a mentor guide and help me through these early days. I agree; it is a really good idea to have an intro video explaining best practices on here:)

I agree, signing in was easier because of my partner. I think this will help to provide a stronger sense of community and increase the number of people using Steemit to share their talents and connect with awesome people. I met you here ;)

Been here for months & still don’t know most of this.😄

I'm sorry to hear that and that is what I hope this article will change, so new steemians feel encouraged and motivated to be engaged on steemit.

Thank you 😍

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blanca237 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88