EVEN THOUGH I MISSED THE IBADAN MEETUP PHYSICALLY, I WAS ABLE TO CONNECT VIA DTUBE

in #promo-steem6 years ago

INTRODUCTION
I was suppose to come from Lagos for the Ibadan meetup as invited by my mentor; @imbigdee but i couldn't due to family issues. So i wouldn't feel left out, i subscribed to watch the videos of the seminar on Dtube and view pictures. I followed @tojukaka , @ejemai, @geeone, @gbenga, @destinysaid, @samstickkz, @nairadaddy, @thelovejunkie, @fisteganos, @ehiboss and others so i can be a part from the comfort of my home. The pictures were lovely and i know for sure i missed two important things - Meeting these wonderful people and the pictures (don't blame me, i just love snapping pictures).

IB.jpg
IMAGE SOURCE

WHAT I HAVE LEARNT INDIRECTLY FROM THE MEETUP.
Though i was not present for the meetup, i was able to watch the presentations and these are the summed up things i have learnt from the meetup:

Steemit is ONE-BIG Family: Even though i wasn't present in the meet up, i saw different pictures of different people from different background smiling, grinning and laughing together. This gave me chills because i know most of them met through Steemit. When i asked a new friend i met here how he happened to know a lot of people, he said:

You need to socialize and
belong to as many communities as possible.

I have joined @genesis-project on Whatsapp, @euronation, @naijapidgin and @airhawk-project on Telegram so i can socialize and meet as many people as i can. I hope by the time i attend my first meetup, i would have many friends i can snap a lot of pictures with and post here.

Cryptocurrency has come to stay: When i first heard about Bitcoin, i told my friend this is just another ponzi scheme and nothing more. It took @imbigdee a lot of convincing to get me here because i had swore to lay off any ponzi scheme but i can see and hear clearly now that cryptocurrency is definitely not a ponzi scheme and it has come to stay. That was made clear by @samstickkz.

STACH: The first time i read about STACH was when i was preparing for the ibadan meetup and i checked the speakers' profiles/blog. I was amazed when i came across @ejemai profile. Anyway, i checked his vlogs and presentations, he has so much dreams and aspiration for this community and it is a challenge to us all. I pray STACH opens up in Ibadan soon so i can visit anytime i am in Ibadan.

CONCLUSION
I can say boldly that every newbie like me needs to be a part of a meetup. It is important for our growth and survival here. It is even easier with steem-based apps like Dtube that has made it easier for me to be a part of a meetup from the comfort of my bed. Also, i advice everyone should go to @ejemai blog to watch his presentations, they are inspiring to be candid. I AM A NEWBIE/MINNOW AND I AM ENJOYING STEEMIT!!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @dwriterinme! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57