Yesterday I became a Dolphin. Now it is time to set my steemit targets for 2018

in #promo-steem6 years ago

I joined steemit in mid June this year. For the first few months my only target was to keep going.

Then about 6 weeks ago I began to realise that I really should take a more strategic approach to my activity on steemit.

While I didn't at that time consider my activity on steemit to be a job or business, with the time and money commitment I had made it was certainly more than a casual pastime.

I was spending upwards of 30 hours a week on the platform and I had invested approaching US$1000 to power up.

It was time to get serious.

At that point I decided to set myself some targets for my activity on steemit. I can't recall exactly where I was at the time but I set myself three ambitions for the end of the year.

These were to reach 5000 SP (and thus to achieve Dolphin status), to gain 1000 followers and to obtain a reputation of 60.

Yesterday by converting my little pot of Bitcoin Cash I reached 5000 SP - now I am a dolphin.

I still have 10 hours to go before the end of the year but it is looking like I won't quite make the other two targets.

I have 977 followers and my reputation is 59.881. Tantalisingly close on both counts - but not quite.

It is a shame not to have achieved all three targets by 31 December but I should hit them in the first week or so of January.

The key thing with targets is to set them early. If I had been on to those 5000 SP / 1000 followers / 60 reputation targets 3 months back they would have been easy to achieve by the year end.

So heeding that I am going to set my targets for 2018 right now.

They will be ambitious but I believe achievable.

2018-Q12018-Q22018-Q32018-Q4
SteemPower8000120001750025000
Followers1500220030004000
Reputation63.066.068.570.0

The only one of these that I can totally control is SteemPower.

That will be grown through a mixture of rewards and investment.

The rewards will be dependent on the quality and quantity of my posts and comments - and how much I contribute to the community. The investment will depend on how much spare cash I have during the year - and how much the price of steem increases.

The steem price is the kicker. I of course want it to increase ... but not too quickly before I have had the chance to buy more.

For the followers and reputation I have less control. They will both be a reflection on the value I can bring to steemit.



That brings me on to what my goals are for my activity on steemit and the wider steem platform for 2018.

While my point of origin on steemit was very much the homesteading and prepping community I have over the past couple of months spread into other spheres of activity.

To do them justice I am going to make a separate post on each of these areas but for now here is a summary of how I am looking to develop my activity on steem during 2018.


Homesteading & Prepping

The Homesteading and Prepping Community is a really great place to call home on steemit. I have got to know some really excellent people through this community. Based around the Homesteaders Online Discord server there is a lot of mutual support, encouragement and sharing of ideas there.

I am looking to continue with the initiatives I have already begun there such as the mentoring scheme, and also develop some new ideas.

Currently I am just embarking on a 'virtual tour' of every one of the nearly 300 steemians on the list of Homesteaders and Preppers on steemit.


SteemCommerce

Being from a business background the whole area of promoting the use of steem for off blockchain business activities really grabs me.

I have kicked off my activity in this area with the first list of businesses accepting payment in steem.

With no fees and its fast transaction times steem is so well positioned for greater use in business.

More use of steem = greater demand for steem = increased price for steem.


Charitable Giving

I really do think steemit and steem have great potential as a vehicle for supporting charities and charitable endeavours.

In November I experimented with a small scale A Dollar A Day giving project. A few other steemians (including @gmuxx, @mother2chicks and @hopehuggs) joined me on this and between us we managed to donate around US $800.

My focus so far has been centred on the work of @schoolforsdg4 in Bangladesh, @papilloncharity in South Africa, @tarc run by @rhondak in the USA, @surfermarly's @dreamsoftheocean project and @SirCork's new blockchain charity initiative @YouAreHope.

I am looking to explore new initiatives for charitable support through steemit in the new year. Stay tuned on this one.


Radio Show

Since doing an interview on @Ma1neEvent's show about 3 months ago I have been dabbling with the idea of doing an Alternative Lifestyle show.

Over the past three weeks I have been co-hosting with @globocop on a 1960s series of his Frequency Waves 432 Hz shows. That has been great fun and has given me confidence to move forward with my own show.

Technicalities being willing my Alternative Lifestyle Show should be launching on MSP Waves Radio early in January.


Steemit in Wales

In November @stephenkendal kindly sourced a list for me of all the steemians identified as being in Wales. Although that list had over 60 accounts on it only 15 of them turned out to be active.

This got me going with the idea of a meetup to connect with existing steemians in Wales and to promote steemit further here.

With the support of Stephen and Matt @starkerz the first meetup is now planned for 10 February.

Alongside that I have begun to look at ways of promoting steemit under the #promo-uk banner to help grow numbers here.

I am very much looking forward to working with the #promo-steem team on this in 2018.



I see a very bright future for steem and steemit in 2018.

I very much hope I can play a small part in shining a light on this amazing platform.



You might also be interested in some of my other posts :



I am in the market for buying steem directly.

I can pay by BACS, PayPal, or Amazon Gift Cards.

For more details check my post :



[ graphics by @pennsif ]

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

congrats brother... i think you are doing fantastic... dolphin or not!

cheers mate

Thank you @meno, much appreciated.

Glad to see this post doing well and you deserve everything of the best for your giving heart! Blessings also to @gmuxx @mother2chicks and @hopehuggs we pray that 2018 will realize all of your dreams! We also thank you for your kind support to the work of @papilloncharity Blessings! Stephen and Marian Smith (Upvoted)

I look forward to learning more about Papillon in 2018.

I hope the new year brings you much good fortune to continue with the valuable work you do.

@pennsif Thank you for the kind words! You are welcome to visit our website my friend. If you send me your email address, I can also send you our latest newsletter that contains some stats.

I've sent my email via Discord to @papilloncharity#7077

Hope that reaches you.

I just put you one step closer to your Followers goal with a follow. Happy New Year and best wishes for a prosperous 2018... and in reaching your Steemit goals. Me, I just plug along One Day at a Time!

Thank you.

congratulations on a successful 2017 and I predict 2018 will be even more prosperous for you!

Thanks @goldendawne - I'm thinking 2018 is going to be a great year for all of us on steemit

Congrats Penni! Wishing u a happy new year filled with more growth and success!

Thank you @djlethalskillz - looking forward to tuning into your radio show when you are ready to roll

Very helpful and inspiring info for a newbie. For me it is like learning a new language, and I think I learned a few key things here. Time now I suppose to think about what goals I might like to accomplish too. Continued success...

Always so much to learn on steemit. But always plenty of great people around willing to help out with the learning.

Congrats!!!

Thank you.

Very inspiring. I only joined early December but I got up to almost 200 followers and 47 almost 48 rep.
A goal for end of Jan is to have at least 2-300SP and double it or more every month after if possible till a few K are in there.

I gave you a follow and look forward to more posts and good luck getting to whale status! you got this!
:D

Thank you for the follow and good luck with your goals.

Congrats on the milestone! That's a big one!

Thanks for be a driving force in the Homesteaders Community. Your comprehensive perspective and approach is inspirational. Bravo!

Thanks @aunt-deb, very kind words. I totally enjoy being part of the Homesteaders community on steemit - truly one of the best communities on the platform.

I think your are somewhat of a messiah! I am so pleased to read you achieved some of your goals.

Hopefully 2018 Wales Steemit will help you achieve them =D

Haha, thank you. Monty Python clip incoming...

Look forward to meeting you at the meetup on 10 February.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79