My First Step In Creating A New Marketable Success Story For Steemit... (With Your Help, I Hope)

in #promo-steem6 years ago (edited)

Lgo.png

Overview:

I've been trying to brainstorm ways to stay motivated to continue actively using and promoting Steemit. After 301 days of consistent effort with highs and lows, I need to reignite my passion for contributing to my growth on the platform. More importantly, I want to help Steemit and the Steem token grow in a positive way because I believe in their long term application.

Mission:

Steemit needs more measurable success stories from people who have actively earned their keep with hard work. We have plenty of tales of legendary early investors, but we also need more of these from people who started from scratch. We need to share these stories with the world, not just amongst ourselves on the platform.

Prime Example:

As an obvious working example, we have Ms. @Coruscate. She and I started on Steemit around the same time, and she's been an undeniable phenom. Her consistent effort, genuine character, constructive style, and endless positivity has caught a lot of high-level attention and appreciation, and she's not slowing down. In my view, she's quickly becoming the epitome of what Steemit is all about. What makes her story even better is that she's done it organically without the help of short cuts, bid-bots or delegation.

Beyond accolades, her story is something Steemit, @dtube and @dlive should market the heck out of. Her emerging success is inspiring, has kept me involved on the platform, and would be a magnet for generating hope and adoption if we leverage it properly.

I care about the success of Steem and its global applications. This is where I want to join in and help.

The Macro Goals:

  • More clear-cut documented wins to attract new users and retain previous adopters.
  • Increase positivity, well-being and goodwill.
  • Motivate Steemians and future Steemians to set and achieve goals.
  • Leading by example.
  • Steemit marketing.

My Proposition/Commitment:

  • Through regular posts on this specific initiative, with value-add content below, save and track my rewards to show that consistency and effort for a good cause pays.
  • Take ALL liquid and/or donated rewards from this series and place them in my Steem Savings account for all to see and follow.
  • To the extent possible and practical, include notable rewards from any upvotes I get on my comments on these posts.
  • My Steem Savings account will only contain funds from this project.
  • Never use bid-bots or self vote on this series.
  • Track my progress over time so people can easily follow my journey. Also monitor non-liquid earnings.
  • When I reach my personal win-win goal of being able to convert the Steem Savings account into one full Bitcoin, do so and execute the overall mission of a grassroots "A Full Bitcoin Earned From Hard Work And The Generosity of Steemit Community".

Most people have heard about the guy who bought a pizza with 10,000 Bitcoin, so let's make a Steemit story as a team to leverage for attracting new adopters and motivating those who are already involved.

  • With the right visibility, show people that Steemit can be a low-risk way to leverage social media to enter the cryptocurrency space and build a savings portfolio for the long term.

One Bitcoin is a solid financial goal for many around the world. I'll do the hard work. Let's give them something to hope for when they find Steemit.

My Value-Added Content:

  • Motivational feedback from this project, recognition of key supporters, and general monitoring of progress.
  • I quit my job exactly 3 years ago to work for myself and pursue freedom, which gives me lots of experience to share about how to take the same leap of faith.
  • As a professional reseller, I'll include at least one ~daily example of items I bought for low cost or obtained for free, that I sold for solid profit to give people cash-generating ideas.
  • I want to teach people how to become more financially independent through creative additional income streams, which could in turn be used to invest in Steem, other cryptocurrency, or precious metals.
  • As an experienced drummer, produce the occasional drum cover video for fun and entertainment.
  • Engage all fitting comments and upvote my supporters.

Thrifting/Resale Tip Example:

I bought this architectural quality printer from a thrift store for $16.32 and sold it for $714.99 within ~ 2 days of listing it. I've also found a few of these on the street or gotten them from free from businesses, and sold them for $250-$400 untested.

It's important to make sure the print head is still intact, as this is the most valuable part of the unit. If you come across large wide printers like this, grab them! When you list these larger items for sale, make sure you choose economy shipping to minimize your costs and maximize profit. Always use plenty of padding for sensitive packages like these to avoid shipping damage.

Drumming Example: DTube Drum Link

Conclusion:

This may or may not work, but I'm going to dedicate myself to the cause. I'm going to need the help of the Steemit community. If it takes a year or two, it takes a year or two. Sure, I can buy this Bitcoin, but that's not the point.

As I start to get traction, I hope people can find ways to piggyback off of my example to create similar goals and success stories we can all use to attract and retain Steemians with. This will ultimately make this community significantly stronger in the future.

If we continue to find ways to innovate and help Steemit grow together, we will all win together in the future.

Resteems greatly appreciated for the kickoff.

Wish me luck!

@steemmatt

Sort:  

I love this initiative mate and will definitely follow along and give support where I can. I’m also quite interested in your reselling business. I need an extra income stream right now and that one could be it.

Thank you. I've posted on my thrifting and upcycling before, but they don't get much attention. I thought that merge the two in this fashion would get more eyes on this niche and help everyone out in a two-pronged approach. Feel free to follow and ask questions any time. I do this as my sole source of income after quitting my job exactly 3 years ago.

I love this mission!! Earning a full bitcoin through Steemit earnings is a great story to be able to share.

Thanks for the monster sized shout-out too!! This totally just made my day! ♥️

Thank you! More than well-deserved.

I actually heard of a Steemian named choruskate, or something like that, who also set a goal to earn a bitcoin with their liquid rewards in the past. Not sure if you know them, but that contributed to this idea.

Bahaha she sounds aight. 😂

That’s so awesome! Glad that helped contribute to overall plan/idea!

Great idea @steemmatt Will be following your journey! One of the steepest hills to climb, as I see it, is to engage your followers, make them react, and thereby create more value to your posts. There are so many "dead" followers, who never engage in anything...I have more than 1000 followers, and only a small handful of them are actually engaging...Of course it has something to do with my content..but still..
I wish you the best of luck with your project!

Just imagine how many pizzas we'll buy with the full bitcoin.
Seriously though, its a nice plan and I hope it motivates others from within and outside to improve/join steemit in the long run. Perhaps I will do something similar from henceforth.

I'm one of those people who has been here since Summer of 2016. I stuck it out through the tough times and eventually built my following up to where it was paying all the bills. It continued to, until very recently. I'm not sure what happened. Cryptos tanking is part of it, but I've also lost a bunch of whales for reasons unknown to me. I used to be reliabily making 30 to 50 SBD per post. Now it's under 5.

I know you're one of the faithful, Alex. You're always coming up with diverse original material, and rewarding your commenters on a daily basis.

I imagine that YOU didn't lose those whales, it's that their personal incentives probably realigned. Character comes out when the going gets tough.

While their rewards are unfortunate to lose, this is driving you to be more innovative and earn new followers. On the bright side, this general decline is good pressure for everyone to proactively engage others on their blogs and form new relationships that will be of higher quality for the long run. Helping each other grow their Steem Power in this manner will continue to earn the lasting respect, reputation and rewards one deserves over time.

I hope so. I'm not really suited to do anything else but write.

It’s possible the whales became more incentivised to self vote or delegate large amounts to bid bots. A tanking Steem price can do nasty things to the economy here it seems.

I haven’t been around as long as you but I remember when a single post made me around $10. And this was well before I hit my current rep and SP.

Good points, @mazzle. Over time, I hope that everyone can all become less emotionally dependent on needing whales or bots, and make new packs of loyal supporters that sum up to some solid Steem Power. From a long term perspective, incentivizing people to continue to use the platform and its apps is critical to encourage positive price movement, or else the workings you described above will be less and less profitable.

Great... I wish u success in all future endevors....

Share ur success too with us man...

Thank you, @shahaan. I hope something like this can be inspirational to you as well.

Your idea is best .
I wish you success in your life on future .

Thanks for sharing @steemmatt
Upvote you .

Thanks you @steemmatt . The post was very good . You have a great time at Steemit . I like your story . Hope you will be more successful . Good luck And thank you for sharing your journey . @steemmatt

Very impressive story you have wish you good luck bright future you have.

Thank you very much. Please stay in touch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71