My Promo-Mentors Writing Challenge: The Best Gift I Have Ever Received.

image
Source

Gifts are a part of life. They may be tangible or not. The best gifts however, are those that come from a sincere heart. Those we receive from loved ones are the ones we treasure the most.

@Promo-mentors challenge asks, 'what is the best gift you have ever received?'

That question got me thinkin. Of course, I have received a lot of gifts but choosing the one that stood out wasn't really hard.

I received that gift during my life before steemit. I was in my final year in school when my school fees was stolen. I come from a large family and I knew just how hard my parents had worked for that money.

I didn't have the courage to tell them the truth so I decided to take a year leave of absence to work for the money.

I hid this from my friends, I wanted no sympathy whether sincere or not. I kept to myself after that incident. I had planned going to start the process(applying for leave of absence) when I had a visitor.

It was Adeola, a friend but not a close one.You can imagine my attitude towards her that day. I just wasn't in the mood for the usual chitchat.

To my surprise, she wasn't too. She just said she came to give me something. She handed me an envelope and left.

I dropped it on my table carelessly without opening it. At the end, I couldn't resist my curiosity and proceeded to open it.

Lo and behold! It held my school fees(the complete amount and extra) with a note attached.

She had found out from our part adviser about my problem. She was pissed I did not trust her as my friend. I should accept her gift as that was the least she could do as my friend, it was her duty.

That act threw me off balance. I have heard of miracles but that was the first time such would happen to me.I was so happy that I went to pay immediately.

That was not all, till I found my feet financially, this lady was there supporting me. She just knew when I was down and she would come with just the perfect presents.

The best gift I have ever received, friends, is Adeola. A sincere friend that helped me through a difficult period in my life. She was so sensitive to my needs and caring too. I never had to tell her my problems, she would be there to hold my hands through it.

I just hope I would be able to repay her kindness one day. There is no friend like mine.

That is my story.

Care to tell yours? Check here for details on how to participate.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

@Cheekah, thank you for using the naijapidgin tag.

We encourage and support minnows.

Join us on discord: https://discord.gg/5SR8CH4 for more fun and to submit your posts for curation.

You like what we are doing and would like to support us? Join our trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=naijapidgin


Sponsored by @ogoowinner

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Congratulations!,@cheekah Your post has been upvoted by @reachout


Our goal is to support Minnows on Steemit.

Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn



Major Upvote Sponsor : @bleepcoin

SP Donation by @rufans & @solomon507


Join Our Trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=reachout

what a great friend you have!!!! I hope you repay her with your loyalty =) Thanks for your entry!

She has my loyalty always. She is a true definition of friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99