My Promo-Mentors Writing Challenge- Near death experience

in #promomentors-challenge6 years ago (edited)

Firstly, I want to really appreciate @futurethinker for organizing this contest. As for the last challenge, I would say I'm really grateful. I never expected it I'll say.
I promised to be part of the new challenge so here's my experience..

The Experience
My parents used to tell me that "experience is the best teacher". I never understood what they meant until I had an experience that taught me alot
All my life, I've always thought that miracles don't exist. I never believed in supernatural happenings until I had an encounter with one.
My experience is on how I was nearly death but recovered miraculously
I've written about it in one of my article (https://steemit.com/jerrybanfield/@estherekanem/nearly-death-but-recovered-miraculously-swc-771db4afdcdae) i just feel like sharing it in this wonderful contest

How it Happened
It was on June 2013, I fell sick and was diagnosed of malaria. Just like the normal malaria I used to have, I took the prescribed drugs but this time, it seems not to cure the sickness
From 3 days to 1 week to 3 weeks, I was still bedridden. By this time, I had lost every thing that looked fleshy in me
"What could have been wrong with me" I asked myself yet got no answer
image
Photo source: pixabay.com

Fast forward to 21 June 2013, one Tuesday morning, the unimaginable happened. I felt short of breathe. I was struggling to breathe and eventually lost it all. Surprised? Same as my parents were.
Just like dreams will look like, it occurred to me as if I was traveling on a journey.
I was wandering all alone with my luggage on my head on the street. It was such a calm road.
I didn't know were I was heading to.
Luckily as i thought, I met one beautiful lady. "Oh, finally, I can talk to someone" I said to myself
We conversated and she seemed to be caring.
She told me she was asked to come and pick me to were I was going.
Surprisingly, I never cared to ask her were I was going to as I didn't even know.
In brief, we reached were seems like a village though it looked like a palace.
I saw strange faces, I also recognized some of them. Amongst them was my aunt. By this time, I was feeling fulfilled. I have seen my aunty that I had missed for years. I rushed to greet her but was interrupted by one man who asked me to introduced myself. Ah, introduction was never a problem na. I happily did.
image
Photo source: pixabay.com

I rushed and met my aunt who wore a surprising and sad look. I was confused. Is it that she didn't miss me or she's not happy to see me after years?
"Aunty love" I teased her.. She smiled but pitifully at me.
"How's everyone and everything over there?" She asked. I responded with a smil
She told me I visited her at the wrong time. That I should go back that its not yet time for me to visit her but I still couldn't understand what was going on.
Before I could ask more questions, she held my hand, dragged me to the gate and against all odds, we passed.
She accompanied me to a far distance and there she stopped. She turned and looked at me who was already lost in my thought. She said to me in a shaken voice as though she wanted to cry, "swthrt, I'm death. That place is for the death. You are not supposed to be there now. No, not when I went there early" she told me a lot and concluded by saying, "you have to go go now my baby. Hurry up, mum must be looking for you by now. Greet everyone for me. Take this route and don't turn. Bye baby" she left without giving me a chance to say a word
"Ouch! Is this for real?" I said to myself. I continued on the journey but this time it seems it wasn't a far distance as at when I was going.
Whilcoming, I could hear voices of people, some crying, some murmuring. Then I discovered that all wasn't well.
image

Just like dreams, I woke up on my sick bed.
When I opened my eyes, I saw many people surrounding me. Some were praying and some were crying. "She's back to life...." Mum shouted
All were surprised and dumbfounded
I became confused and needed explanations as per why people were behaving the way they did

In summary, I was told how I gave up around 9am and lied lifeless on the bed then suddenly woke upby 11am. They told me how they almost took me to the mortury but was asked not to by some elders reasons being that I might just be going for a trial.
But thank God I survived

How It Changed me
It changed my perception
I now believe in miracle
I now believe in supernaturally happenings..

Lesson Learnt
I learnt to be more spiritual knowing that God exist
The experience also made me understand that some sicknesses needs spiritual encounter not drugs..
The experience drew me closer to God as before this time I was never closed to him

It was a terrible experience but I learnt alot
signature.gif

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch . If your post has more upvotes, your post will appear in the trending page. To get more upvotes, you can bid for @steembidbot vote. please check it out here: https://steembottracker.com/

Thank you for your entry! (sorry for my late response)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62184.89
ETH 2995.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97